Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just some quick tactical questions:
1. Can a shadowseer can equip a Harly kiss?
2. Does an Autarch's plasma grenades effect the whole unit? Like if I charge some firewarriors or something
2. Should warp spiders deep strike? or have them run along with other fast units? I've heard deepstriking is bad and was wondering how likely I am to lose the unit? Or is it more of a situational thing? Obviously deepstriking into a CC army would be bad, while into IG, assuming i can stay in combat and charging between shooting, would be good to keep them from being blasted away.
Thanks for any answers and advice!
2. Not sure. I don't think so, but don't quote me.
3. It depends. Deepstriking is dangerous because it leaves the Spiders in the open without much support.
Hope that helps.
Eldar Record: 11-8-3
Battle reports, painting and more at Meandering the Dune Sea
Dahli.llama said most of it... The reason I think deep striking is nice is it can get you where you need to go no matter where that is. If he has some long ranged pain tucked far away and you have your warp spiders deployed normally, it may take several turns to get there, whereas deep striking them in could ruin your opponents day. They work great against harlies, especially if the person doesn't have them in cover... Pop down right beside em and lay waste.
1. I would think you could since the codex says you can add one to any model (for x points)
2. Again it's a wording that specifies models (pg 36) so it only allows the Models with grenades to ignore the initiative modifier for terrain.
3. Warp spiders seem safer to deep strike with (kind of) because after they deep strike they can shoot and then warp away during the assault phase since they can't assault anyways.
I almost always deepstrike my Warp Spiders into the fight. You might miss out on a couple rounds to due arrival, but even with the extra movement they can sometimes take a couple turns to be in range anyway. Plus if you DS and they don't scatter too far, you can strike tactically at rear armour for vehicles, or behind a terrain piece it would take longer to run around.
I don't have my codex hadny for the first one, but for the other two questions:
2. Only the Autarch will get to assault at normal initiative if he is the only model in your squad with Plasma Grenades. The rest would suffer as per normal rules concerning assaulting into cover.
3. As far as your Warp Spiders go, I say DS them in. But be careful where you do it. Try to avoid getting close to anything with CC ability, as they get caught in CC and either die or be stuck and not shooting. If facing a horde army, I wouldn't DS them as their is little chance of not getting caught in an assault.
The withdraw ability can be handy, but you probably won't get any kills, and if the enemy has power weapons, your going to lose a lot of models. This means your more likely to be falling back (swept) rather than actually withdrawing.
So... yeah. Deepstrike close to vehicles or gunlines. Avoid CC units or MCs if you can. If if looks like you not gonna get a lot of room for deepstriking, then I say deploy them as normal.
Arvan'drynn Craftworld - 15,000pts (deceased)
Tau - 2,000 points (atomized while on patrol)
ive brought them into a few battles only DSing them to take out the opponents heavy weapon teams (usually lootaz in my case) and when they land they usually take them all out even in cover. they are deadly.
also with the 3+ save they are alot safer out in the open then other units in the army.
i thought u cant assault after DSing so that cancels out the jump ability?
The codex says you can use it if they aren't assaulting or in combat and it's also answered in the Eldar FAQ that yes, they can make the second jump after DS.i thought u cant assault after DSing so that cancels out the jump ability?