Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im slightly unsure about the way that this thing works, it dosnt seem worth it in my eyes.
so can anyone help me with these.
1 the death rolla inflicts D6 S10 hits. Does this mean that the models are hit instantly, but then you have to wound?
2 do the hits from the death rolla give saves? it doesnt seem to make any sense that some gaunts are hit by a huge crushing spiked rolling beam of death, but saved by slight armour.
3 if you ram a vehicle, does it get hit as well. Im going to guess no, but clarification would be nice.
Thanks all in advance
1. Hits automatically. wound as normall
2.yes it gives saves but it will instakill antthing that fails the save
3.Yes!!!!!! or at least thats hoe my club plays it. ask your club or friends about it as the wording is unclear
when life gives you lemons.........LEMONS FOR THE LEMON GOD!!
1. Yes, they automatically hit.
2. Yes, they always give a save. Denying the target a save is less about raw power and more about the attack's ability to circumvent/penetrate armor. For example, an armor piercing bullet would be a lot less damaging than a cannonball, but it would be a lot better at penetrating armor. Rolling over a person will either crush them or it won't. It's not 'designed' to crack through armor, it just happens to do it because it's strong enough to crush anything.
3. Yes, although many people aren't happy with that fact. Despite what people might say, 'ramming' is specifically described as a type of tank shock, therefore every rule that applies to tank shocks also applies to rams, therefore they do work against vehicles.
Now, a fair question is: were they 'meant' to hurt vehicles? For their point cost, I'd say probably not, but until that's specifically stated in the rules or errata, they can hurt vehicles, because that's the letter of the law.
Regarding Ramming.. The GW rulesboy that answered my question (this specifically) said No. I'm willing to assume that it as GW intends it to be played, and not bother ramming vehicles with it. No use practicing for tournies if I'm practicing the wrong way, eh?
But in truth, it is a very convoluted topic. You will have strong arguments from either side, and many players do not believe it will damage a vehicle. I suggest asking your opponent / event hosts before attempting to do so, to avoid any mid-game controversy.
Unfortunately, Grax...I'm going to have to disagree with you on this as well. I would LOVE It if DeffRollas worked on Vehicles, and in Casual games, I think it's up to you and your opponent.
However, I asked a guy who used to be a GT Judge when I went to my tourney this past weekend...and he told me that it can't be used to deliver extra D6 S10 attacks. Next time, I'm going to probe him as to why--since the book does say "Ramming is a special type of Tank Shock" ...I didn't want to argue too much with the judge before my first tournament.
At any rate, I really wished it does work, and logically I think it should...but for some reason I think it's just a mistake they're going to errata eventually.
Those GW rules guys don't have magic books that automatically tell them the answer to everything, and they don't confer with each other in a secret meeting to give you the absolute answer to everything.
On any given question that isn't covered in the book or errata, half the GW guys will give you one answer and the other half will give you another. There's really no point in calling them. The only reason they seem to exist is because some people don't understand the proper method for determining the answer to any Warhammer question:
1. Try to find the answer in the books and errata
2. Ask a judge (if at a tournament)
3. Roll it off
At no point is there any reason to call GW. The answer the guy will give you will not be definitive, and can't be taken as the official answer, and there's a 50/50 chance they'll answer either way.
So why not save yourself time and trouble, and just roll a die? That's a 50/50 chance too, right on the spot. ^_^
I personally feel that the Deff Rolla is TOO potent to use versus vehicles.. and is probably not how it was intended to be used.. d6 Str 10 hits.. is enough to fell a Land Raider without difficulty.. and for only 20 points.. As such, I make a point of it not to use my Deff Rollas for Ramming, if for no better reason than I have a sneaking suspicion that this benefit will be denied in the next FAQ/Errata release, and as such I do not wish to become dependant upon their function.
I do adamantly support it's use in Ramming, however, and will continue to do so until one case or the other is made definitive. As the rules are written, they are completely legal, I think.. But I also do feel that it's rather munchkinish.. and would rather play a fun game, circumventing any potential argument which could ruin that fun (for either player).
Very good points, BossGoreStompa. It's indeed a very good idea to clarify that deffrollas hurt vehicles before the game starts, so your opponent can adjust their tactics, and voice any grievances. Once again, by the rules they really have to allow it to be used during rams, but for the sake of sportsmanship, you could set up house rules that say otherwise.
I also agree, based on their point cost, I don't believe deffrollas were 'intended' to hurt vehicles. 30-40 points would've been a fairer cost. However, until they put that in the errata, by the letter of the law, they do work on vehicles.
I'm also in the camp that technically deffrollas can be used for a ram, but it doesn't seem to have been intended that way.
The INAT FAQ used by Adepticon, The Big WAAAGH!, and virtually every local tournament in my area does specify that you cannot use a deffrolla to ram. So in essentially every tournie I'm likely to play in, it's not legal. so I'm with BossGorestompa on "Why use it to ram when I'm practicing for a tournie where I can't?"
Wargamer Haven, my little cyberspace blogspot.