Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello everyone, I am a nub, but thouroughly enjoy playing Orks. I have played 4 friendly tournies and done quite well against a myriad of crazy armies.
I have some questions that will make things so much better if true:
1. Truck with RPJ can move 13", dismount troops up to 2.99", and shoot a target AND the dsmts can shoot or WAAAAAGH and assault, all in the same turn?
2. Battlewagon w/ RPJ same as above except is it 7" if closed top and 13" if open topped? (barring the dismount points rule) ?
3. a. Now the tricky one, can I dsmnt then tank shock?
3. b. Can I tankshock (deffroll a couple units) then dsmt, shoot/WAAAGH, assault?
4. For truck and BW w. rpj can I tank shock and still shoot with cargo ie. 20x shoota boyz? And at what distances can I do this for each veh??
5. For Trucks and BW w/ RPJ, I know you cant fire more then 1x veh weapon after moving 1". BUT how far can you move and still have your cargo fire??
6. If I embark a truck or BW when the veh is stationary, then I can still move/tankshock/deffroll and shoot as normal right?
7. How far can a veh move truck / BW and still embark troops, and is there any subsequent action (move / tankshock) that can be done afterwards?
*I am not to concerned about looted wagons as I only use them as Boomguns and they would have similar rules as the BW.
Can anyone think of any other damaging scenario that involves, moving, tank shocking, dsmnting, asslt, shootings etc that would be good to know???
Really appreciate all the feedback from the key Ork Subject Matter Experts... You know who I am talking about ( the 4-6 of you vets).
I know that these are all answered in the RB, but I have been flustered during matches before and not been able to validate my proposed moves without being overruled on short notice
PS. if the answer to 3 is yes, I predict that I could have turned the balance andwon atleast 3 more games!!!! from that outcome alone.
Welcome to the Orks! I can't answer with absolute certainty on some of the points, since I don't have the codex handy, but I'll generally give it a shot:
1. Yes. That's basically the core of the speed freaks/trukk strategy. As long as you move no more than 13in (assuming RPJ), your boyz can disembark and assault.
2. Disembarking from an open topped battlewagon (or looted wagon) is literally no different than disembarking from a trukk. In fact, you can disembark them all even after moving the full 13in. The only difference when disembarking from a close topped vehicle is you're limited to where they can disembark from, and you can't assault the turn you disembark (although you can still shoot/run).
3. Only if you dismount before the vehicle moves. You can certainly dismount the boyz and then go on to tank shock, but you can't move the trukk, drop boyz off, and then move again.
4 + 5. Regardless of whether you tank shock or ram, if you move no more than 7in (again, assuming RPG, otherwise it's 6), the boyz can all fire while inside the battlewagon. If you move more than 7in, then you have to disembark if you want to shoot that same turn. If you move more than 13in (only possible in a trukK), then the passengers can't fire or disembark at all that turn.
6. It depends if the boyz moved that turn or not. If they started within 2in of the vehicle, allowing them to embark without moving, then yes, you can move the vehicle (and tank shock if you like). If your boyz had to move in order to get them all within 2in of the vehicle, then no, you can't move the vehicle. Think of it this way: not counting embarking/disembarking, you can either move the boyz or the vehicle each turn. If you moved the boyz, then you can't move their transport. If you moved the transport, then you can't move the boyz (at least not during the movement phase). You also can't embark and disembark a unit on the same turn. After embarking, you can't disembark the unit until next turn.
7. This is the one I'm not sure. Sorry. If no one else knows, I'll look it up later.
Last edited by mynameisgrax; April 28th, 2009 at 20:45.
Grax, thankyou for your time and input... I have made some modifications to my lists each week based on your input and that of other seasoned smart veterans that take their time to share with the nubbies.
And two clarify to your response:
5. Both the BW and Truck move 7" and can still have cargo shoot? So a truck cannot move 13" and shoot with cargo as in there is no advantage of having shoota boys in a truck versus a BW when it comes to veh movement.
a. BUT a truck or BW could both move 13" with RPJ dissembark, have troops shoot/waaagh that turn and assault that turn.
b. Also, a truck or BW could both move 13" with RPJ dissembark, have troops shoot that turn. The following turn, mount up and shoot after moving another 7" as long as the boys didnt move around?
6. a. A truck or BW could both tankshock a unit/ veh 1" to 7" and STILL have their cargo shoot that turn.
6. b. OR A truck or BW could both tankshock a unit/ veh 1" to 13" and STILL have their cargo dismount, shoot/waaagh, and assault?
Take into consideration the RPJ, the veh is not imobilized or stopped by a DoG etc etc.
I dont mean to add more questions, I just came up with 4 more examples of possible situations I see myself in the near future.!!!!
Grax et al,
Could you just give me a 100% thumbs up on my interpretation of your explanation? I will be playing with the rules as stated and didnt want to miss understand what you wrote.
Correct, provided you do NOT put the Ard Case on the Trukk/BW. As long as the transport is opened top tou can move at 13" (w/ RPJ), disembark 2" off any side and can still shoot and assault, or can run, waaagh and assult.a. BUT a truck or BW could both move 13" with RPJ dissembark, have troops shoot/waaagh that turn and assault that turn.Correct!b. Also, a truck or BW could both move 13" with RPJ dissembark, have troops shoot that turn. The following turn, mount up and shoot after moving another 7" as long as the boys didnt move around?Believe so, but not 100% sure.6. a. A truck or BW could both tankshock a unit/ veh 1" to 7" and STILL have their cargo shoot that turn.Believe so, but not 100% sure.6. b. OR A truck or BW could both tankshock a unit/ veh 1" to 13" and STILL have their cargo dismount, shoot/waaagh, and assault?
It's a somewhat odd rule, but even though fast vehicles (like trukks) can move 12in and still fire a single weapon (and any secondary weapons, although Orks don't have any), the rule does not extend to passengers in fast vehicles. Passengers in vehicles follow the same rules regardless of what type of vehicle they're riding in. If the vehicle moved over 6in (or 7in if it has RPJ), then the passengers have to disembark in order to fire.
To my knowledge, tank shocking has no effect upon passengers. They may shoot, disembark, and embark as if the tank shock didn't happen. It simply doesn't effect them. All that matters is the total amount of distance their transport moved.
Just looked it up, Grax is correct, a Fast Transport does not grant anything to passengers. The rule states passengers cannot fire if the Transport moved at (or above) cruising speed and there is no mention of being able to do so for Fast Vehicles.
Roger! thanks for the quick reply guys~!!!!
PS, I posted a few more good Q's on the Ork board I am wrestling with
Am I missing something here?
Open topped vehicles aren't restricted by this rule. It's under the section of the rules describing open topped vehicles.
Passengers of open topped vehicles can assault the turn they disembark, can freely fire out of the vehicle as if every direction was a fire point, and don't suffer as strong a hit (STR 3 instead of STR 4) if it explodes. Of course, vehicle damage results are +1 on the damage table, and some weapons can harm open topped vehicles but not normal ones, so there is as much disadvantage as there is advantage.