Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
when you take a pinning test do u take one for the whole squad or one per unsaved wond? the way we have been playing is that you take one test even if the squad suffers 3 unsaved wounds. im just wondering because everyone mentions how well there rangers pin and ive had no luck pinning a unit thats why i think it would make more sence if its one test for ever unsaved wound.
i think its just one test no matter how many wounds
the rulebook is clear here i think: he takes multiple pinning tests until he fails one...so is one for each wound unsaved
^^ sweet, i never played that way.
i hope thats how your supposed to do it then
page 31 rulebook 3`rd pharagraph (i think) states a unit can be called to make multiple pinning tests...so ...
yeah thats what i thought but i found an old thread on this topic on this site and it said that they only take one pinning test so i wasnt sure if it was in more detail in the full version i only have the short rule book from black reach that my friend gave me because he has the full version lol.
One unit with a pinning weapon can only force another one unit to take a single pinning test regardless of how many pinning weapon wounds you inflicted.
Let's say you have two units, both with pinning. Unit A shoots at the target and gets 2 unsaved wounds. The target must take a single pinning test. Then Unit B shoots at the same target and causes a few more wounds, then the unit is forced to take another pinning test.
The way pinning is worded, you take a pinning test after casualties are resolved before you shoot with another unit. Thus, to cause more than one pinning test in a turn, you must shoot at the target with another pinning weapon from another unit.
The only way a single unit can provoke multiple pinning tests in a single shooting phase is by hitting multiple target units with pinning template weapons.
Exactly what absolutionis said,
I have a wraithlord with an eml
shoot a space marine unit with the plasma shot, kill 2 guys, they take a pinning test
Same turn I use my rangers to shoot that squad, kill 1 guy, they take a pinning test.
Multiple tests, but only one test allowed per unit shooting.
The Hand that guides.
i really do not know why is one pinning test per unit that shot at you... but it makes sense in a logical way....but i did not found anyting in the rules that sustain this logical conclusion
You usually have to shoot a lot at one unit to make it fail a pinning test... I think it would have been better if they had to take a pinning test at a minus for each unsaved wound after the first.
i.e: 1 wound pinning test at -0, 3 wounds pinning test at -2.