Welcome to Librarium Online!
Does the Deceiver's Deceive ability count as firing a weapon during the shooting phase? It doesn't say so in the codex, but a guy at our local store said that 'they' made it so its like firing a weapon. Effectively because of this, he can't Deceive and run nor Deceive one unit and assault a different unit in the same turn. I don't know who 'they' are... maybe GW, but I don't ever remember reading that anywhere. In the codex it only specifies that it is an ability he uses in the Shooting phase. Running is restricted if you have fired a weapon in that turn and assaulting is also restricted to a unit you fire upon.
My take is that it doesn't count as a weapon, as it doesn't say it does, so he's free to deceive and run/assault in the same turn.
What do you guys think?
After 2 turns:
"What the #%&! I killed 14 warriors and only 2 actually died?!"
"Looks like you're going to have to do something else!"
Some people say it DOES count like shooting. Others, like me, that it doesn't. The reason why many people say it counts as shooting is because of page 50 of the rulebook, saying that Psychic shooting attacks count as, and follow the restrictions of, shooting a weapon. However, the Deceiver's ability is not only not listed as a psychic shooting attack, it doesn't even have a weapon profile. Therefore, it's just a special ability.
So next time somebody tells you you can't use the deceive power and run, ask them to show you the codex, rulebook or errata that says so. There is none. Adding an arbitrary restriction to someone's unit is not something I'd allow.
As lemt said, its just an ability. It isn't governed by any shooting (like the NBs "lascannon") or psychic rules. So imo, its not "firing a weapon".
Last edited by Phoenix; April 29th, 2009 at 18:46.
Like the lords nightmare shroud?
So, you can't use the shroud unless you are able to fire a weapon?
Seems good enough