To Pin or Not to Pin...That is the Question? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

22 (x1)

To Pin or Not to Pin...That is the Question?

Hey all,

I'm a newbie to the forums but i thought I'd try and start a discussion.

It seems to me that I've been seeing a preponderance of transport heavy armies now that 5th edition has such a reliance on Troop choices. I have been contemplating a list that goes heavy on Marker lights (SkyRay, 2xPathfinders, Marker Drones) and pinning weapons (Fire warriors with Carbines, Gun Drones, Sniper Teams, Rail rifles) and then using XV8's as Deathrains and Fusion Blaster+Flamer teams (Don't know what these guys are called), and Heatwaves.

The idea is to "pop" the Transports (Deep striking could be an option) and Burn the Squad up while pinning down squads that could intervene if the squad isn't obliterated the turn their transport pops. Also could pin squads that proved tough enough to withstand the first round of fire after they get blown out of their transport, to stop them from assaulting the XV8's.

Marker lights would primarily be used to try and ensure failed leadership tests, as well as BS upgrades, and cover negation as needed.

Inevitably their will be issues with this strategy (Ork Horde certainly comes to mind) but surprise could be on your side when you show up to a match with no rail guns and your opponent looks at you quizzically.

Any thoughts on how this tactic could work in a 1500-2250 game? Pro's and Con's? Any discussion would be helpful as I like to try and do things different from what you see most people do...i.e. Hammerheads, Broadsides and Fire Knives.