Welcome to Librarium Online!
Well, Im on a roll so I thought I would just keep asking away. I have again, checked the Questions area and Dakka Dakka without results.
So, you take some Kommandos, You upgrade with Snik, You buy another IC such as a warboss.
Can you put all three together and Ambush ÉÉ Craziness I know, I havent heard of anyone doing it... but read what I referenced below:
1. I know, I read the page 48 under Special Rules. It says you would lose the special rule unless specified by the rule itself.
2. So then you goto pg 62 of the Ork Codex and read Ambush ...If the owning player chooses, Snikrot and his unit may be held in Reserve. When Snikrot and his unit become available from Reserve, they may move on form any table edge . That pretty much states it, and because under Characters pg 47and 48 it doesnt state that an IC joining a unit changes the type or origional design of the unit, unless specified in a rule, that would mean that kommandos with a warboss are still Kommandos with a warboss who can Ambush with Snikrot coming out of reserves!!!
3. Edit: and my main push for this is that Kommandos dont have Ambush, so they dont lose it when joined by a IC. Its Snikrot, who is an upgrade, who confers the Special Rule to the Unit!
Man I am on a role with this stuff... So, who has a reference page or FAQ that goes against that.
What does everyone think
Last edited by Glockster83; April 30th, 2009 at 21:38.
This is currently being discussed in Grax's "Errata Wish List" post. See #3 in the 1st post.
Monkey's Killer Kan WiP (Updated 4/29)
Opps! Grax got me on this one... well... I still think its a valid question.
Knowing full well that no other HQ has infilitrate I think is secondary as it does not directly link infiltrate to ambush in RAW, nor does it ever compare them side by side.
So, if I were a player playing against an Ork who was pulling this off, what do I have to say that is wrong? What page?
I don't have my books in front of me, but I think the hangup you run into is in the universal special rules it notes which ones are lost by a unit if an IC joins them that doesn't have it.
I will check once I have the book handy, but I think the Boss ends up removing the infiltrate abilities from the unit.
If it could work I would give them my MAd DOk though....
I don't think there is any possible way for a warboss to ambush this way. This is clearly meant for Snikrot and the kommandos.
This rule is more an upgrade to outflank which our HQ's don't/can't have. It's not so much that HQ's aren't allowed to ambush, so much as it is that only those with the outflank special rule can. In theory, if we had an HQ that could could outflank, then by the wording of the rule then yes he could enter via Snikrot's ambush. The thing is... we don't.
This is similar to if you wanted to attach an HQ to a stormboyz unit with Zagstruk. Zagstruk's special rules state that you have to enter via deep strike, which means that you can't attach an HQ ahead of time just to see it deep strike in. By the same rules. you can't attach an HQ to snikrot's unit just to see walk in behind your enemy's basilisk... much to my dismay.
"Orks have to be followers of Nurgle! They're green, smell bad, and just want to spread the fun!"