To PK or not to PK - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Member Daziel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    584
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    91 (x2)

    To PK or not to PK

    It came up recently in a game against my regular Daemon opponent that I felt using the Warbosses PowerKlaw was overkill, the enemy (i cant remember what exactly) would still get their Inv Save and the difference between S5 and S10 vs. T3 was irrelevant. What was a problem was the Initiative.

    So I asked if the Warboss could choose NOT to use his PK and go back to S5 at normal initiative. Neither of us knew if that was allowed so we rolled for it and I won

    Going forward, anyone have advice on this as there can often be situations when it may be preferebly to not use the PK if it is more important to get a hit in first.

    -------------------
    Check out my Blog for my Biel-Tan Apocalypse progress

    http://www.librarium-online.com/forums/blogs/daziel/

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Warboss Alf Cossack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    52
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    140 (x3)

    Personally I think you should use whatever weapons you have....so if you've only got a powerklaw, then that's what the boss would use.

  4. #3
    Member Zatnugg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Based on Wargear

    It's based entirely on wargear. Like Grotsnik who has both a power klaw AND an 'urty syringe so he can choose. But a regular warboss will only have one weapon so he must use it.

    As a rule though, if I know I'm facing daemons I usually take Big choppas, much cheaper and still get the job done on those monstrous creatures... Just be sure to still have a couple pks in case those scary soul grinders show up...
    Last edited by Zatnugg; May 4th, 2009 at 22:13.
    "Orks have to be followers of Nurgle! They're green, smell bad, and just want to spread the fun!"

  5. #4
    Member Daziel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    584
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    91 (x2)

    Yeah, tell me about it. He's now taken to running 3 SoulGrinders in a 1500pt list + 2 units of 3 flamers. Coupled with deepstrike that's a lot of no save template weapons I have to face
    -------------------
    Check out my Blog for my Biel-Tan Apocalypse progress

    http://www.librarium-online.com/forums/blogs/daziel/

  6. #5
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Yes

    Yes, as long as the unit has another weapon (in this case, the pistol or shoota) you can always fight with the other weapon instead of the powerklaw.

    I think chaos demons would be the only case of this possibly making sense, however, because of the lost strength bonus.

    A warboss with a powerklaw gets 5 attacks at strength 10 on the charge.

    A warboss using his gun only gets 5 attacks at strength 6 on the charge.

    As long as the demon is toughness 4 or less, you're right, you might as well attack at initiative rather than with the powerklaw. Good call. ^_^
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  7. #6
    Warboss Alf Cossack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    52
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    140 (x3)

    But if it's a twin-linked shoota and a PK...then it's only the PK.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cossack View Post
    But if it's a twin-linked shoota and a PK...then it's only the PK.
    Umm.. why? The way i see it, they can perfectly fine hit stuff with theire weapons instead of shooting. Even Lootas, who has big buns strapped on theire back and around them, gets 2 attacks.

    Isnt there even a place in the rulebook stating that the one in a close combat use whatever he can to kick the ass of his opponent. He could even beat them with his fist, boot or headbutt them down. I cant see the problem in choosing base str over PK attacks.

  9. #8
    Warboss Alf Cossack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    52
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    140 (x3)

    I don't care. Do it how you want - it's your army. I don't play that way...if my warboss has a powerklaw, I use the powerklaw. That's just my opinion, but then I'm not concerned with crunching numbers, measuring milimeters and protractor degrees and all that other stuff either.

    Squeezing every last drop of technical advantage out of the rules is not really my concern.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Shoota boyz? Imperial Guardsmen?

    Everyone can fight with the gun they're carrying in close combat. Otherwise, how would Imperial Guardsmen, Shoota Boyz, and Necron Warriors fight? Necron Warriors certainly don't have a pistol or close combat weapon, after all.

    So yes, technically you can fight without the powerklaw. There are just very very few situations where you'd want to (against Chaos Daemons is the only one I can think of).
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  11. #10
    Warboss Alf Cossack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    52
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    140 (x3)

    Think like a grot and see what happens. Powerklaws are for squishin'....

    Karma's gonna get ya.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts