Welcome to Librarium Online!
I am currently an eldar player and play against tau often. I was wondering if you got a cover save if you "turbo boosted" or moved fast against marker lights? Lately we have agreed yes I do, but I might be wrong. You take cover saves whenever you take a wound, not for every hit.
Also which marker lights can move and shoot?
What is the order of shooting if the suits can fire at multiple units? Does one from each model have to fire at the designated target. Or do you just take the pick of the litter. Who can you assault? Any of the units you fired at?
Can the loss of drones make you fall back? and count as being below 50%?
Sorry I looked at the main links, but they mostly talk about strategy.
You do not get cover saves against marker light hits. As you said, you only receive a cover save when you roll armor saves.
- Never underestimate the power of human stupidity.
It says right in the saves secton of rule book you must take damage to take a save. Markerhave no Str to cuase a wound with hence no saves are allowed.
Second (or third) that - markerlights cause no wounds, therefore no saves of any kind are taken against them.
To answer some of your other questions:
Remember though that a single Tau model can never fire at more than one target. The only exceptions to this are commander Shadowsun, who has special rules, and Tau vehicles that have the target lock upgrade. The normal infantry target lock does not allow a single model to split its fire if it is able to even fire multiple weapons, which is another upgrade in itself.
Hope that helps you out. Good luck in your battles though you will inevitably either join the greater good or be purged by it.
Last edited by ZenGamer; May 22nd, 2009 at 14:19.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
You have to designate a unit as the target unit before you can even employ a TL to fire at "another" unit. That first target unit is the one that may be assaulted, no other.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Markerlights are considered as "heavy weapons", so if a heavy weapon can hit your units a ML sure will.
MLs do not have a STR value, so they don't cause wounds and there is no reason for saves.
MLs which can "move and shoot", are those taken by crisis suits and stealth teams. These units are "jump infantry" which makes them "relentless". Since ML drones, are considered wargear to them, they also are affected by these rules.
MLs give a -1 cover save to any unit being shot at by a Tau unit.
All suits in a squad must fire at the smae target, unless one or more has a target lock. Those which a target lock, can fire at a seperate target from the rest of the squad. All the suits weapons ( if it has a multi-trackers ) must be fire at the same target it picks out.
Suits follow the same rules for "assaults" as it is found in the 40k rulebook. It would stand to reason, that the squad would assault the closest target. I however cannot fantom why a crisis squad would assault.
As taken from the page of 31, " Drones under the command of a drone controller are counted when assessing if the unit they are with should take a morale check having taken 25% casualties. They are similarly counted when determining if the unit is strong enough to claim an objective. If their unit suffers losses, drones are counted when determining if it is below 50% for victory point purposes."
I hope I helped some.
Thanks everyone, I just haven't had the time to borrow the codex to really check these things out. My friend who runs tau hasn't learned the art of dissecting the codices for tricks and interpretations. He was pumped he could eliminate my turbo boosting and our friends imperial smoke launchers and will hopefully begin to really understand how to run tau. Like eldar they require strategy and thinking. Not just move shoot as please because of range.
All the rules state is that the TL equipped model can target a different target to the rest of its unit, it does not state that you have to decide which target is the primary target. If I have an XV8 with a fusion targeting a Landraider while the other 2 XV8's in the unit hit a unit of tactical Marines then the Landraider is the primary target in my opinion.
if I have a two man XV8 unit and one has a TL what is to say which XV8's target is the primary target, each is a valid target.
As far as I can see I am allowed to assault any of the units targeted by the TL equipped unit and I do not have to declare which is the primary unit , tell me where it says I have to state which is the primary target?
All the rule in the 40K rule book specifies is that I have to assault the unit I shot at. Well I shot at the unit with my TL equipped model so I can assault that unit if I wish.
4th Ed referred to a "primary target" on P.36 BGB. 5th Ed contains no such wording, instead phrasing it purely as
"must declare its assault against the unit it shot at"
If you have a unit of 3 XV8s and one is equipped with a Target Lock, your unit is capable of targetting two separate enemy units in the Shooting Phase. It is not specified anywhere in either the codex or in the 5th Ed BRB that one of these enemy units must be designated as the "Unit" target with reference to the subsequent Assault Phase.
Don't forget that the main rules for shooting and assaulting are based on the premise that a single friendly unit can normally only fire upon a single enemy unit (P.16 BRB, first sentence of "Check LOS and pick a target"), thus can only normally assault that single unit - with the proviso given on P.34 BRB 3rd paragraph under "Assaulting multiple enemy units", of course.
With the ability to split fire comes the opportunity to assault either unit in 5th Ed, with no pre-requisite designation as per 4th Ed.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"