Welcome to Librarium Online!
1.) Lets say I have a squad of pathfinders with Markerlights and Multi-tracker. Does this mean that I can shoot the markerlights at a squad of SMs and my carbines as well?
2.) Lets say my pathfinders shoot markerlights at a SM squad and they hit. I have 2 squads of FWs in shooting range. Can both of those squads shoot at the lit SM squad and benefit from the markerlights or only one?
3.) Can you give me an example on how to use TL? I don't quite understand it.
I know I'm new to the forums but I've looked through numerous threads about these topics and I'm still not crystal clear on the rules. Thanks.
The result of markerlight hits is that you place a number of ML tokens on the unit that got lit up. For each token, ONE unit may take a single benefit as outlined in the Tau codex. So if you want multiple units to benefit from the markerlight hits, you need to have accrued enough of them to pass around.Originally Posted by T_VanderZwaag
If you want to increase two FW units BS up to BS 5, you would thus require 4 markerlight tokens -- two for each FW unit involved.Firstly, ignore the verbiage relating to target priority checks. The Tau codex is a 4th edition codex, released at a time when target priority was a part of the shooting phase. 5th edition did away with target priority, so that part of the TLs functionality no longer applies.Originally Posted by T_VanderZwaag
All that is left, therefore, is the ability for the model with the TL to fire at an alternate unit, a unit that is different from the one the rest of the unit fires at.
Most commonly you'll see TLs on XV8s or XV88s. For example, you could make a 3-man XV8 unit and give two of the models TLs. That would allow all three models to fire at different units. Note that one of those three units must still be the "primary" target. You have to designate a primary target before you can pick out "alternate" targets. Thus, the model that doesn't have the target lock will fire at the "primary" target, and the two TL-equipped models will fire at "alternate" targets. This matters because the unit can only assault the designated target fired at in the shooting phase. TLs only allow for shots to be fired at targets NOT the one designated for the unit. It doesn't allow the unit to break the rule that forces you to assault the unit you fired at and no other.
Last edited by number6; May 22nd, 2009 at 15:43.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Not strictly true - Fire Warrior and Pathfinder team leaders can take a hardwired multi-tracker (it is listed in the infantry armory on page 28 of the Tau codex). However, to answer the OP, this allows only the model equipped with it to fire both of his weapons, not the entire unit.
-Thread Killer Bryan
Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept
Wow that clears up a lot. Thanks a lot guys.
All the rules state is that the TL equipped model can target a different target to the rest of its unit, it does not state that you have to decide which target is the primary target. If I have an XV8 with a fusion targeting a Landraider while the other 2 XV8's in the unit hit a unit of tactical Marines then the Landraider is the primary target in my opinion.
if I have a two man XV8 unit and one has a TL what is to say which XV8's target is the primary target, each is a valid target.
As far as I can see I am allowed to assault any of the units targeted by the TL equipped unit and I do not have to declare which is the primary unit , tell me where it says I have to state which is the primary target?
All the rule in the 40K rule book specifies is that I have to assault the unit I shot at. Well I shot at the unit with my TL equipped model so I can assault that unit if I wish.
Last edited by Rikimaru; May 24th, 2009 at 00:31.
1. No. Only the model with a multi-tracker can fire both their weapons. Also, a unit which fires a ML, cannot use the ML it fired. Unless it is a NML, then the unit can use its own MLs.
2. Just for giggles, let's say you have a unit of 5 pathfinders. They choose a target, and fire away with their MLs. Out of the 5, let's say 3 hit. Now, your two fire warrior squads want to fire. Each squad will use a ML a piece, so FW 1 fires then FW2. This leaves one ML still on the target, until the end of the current Tau shooting phase.
3. For giggles, let's say you have a fire warrior unit which has a shas'ui with a TL. Basically stating, the shas'ui can fire at a seperate target than the rest of the squad. Target Priority tests were taken out of the 5th ed codex, so you need not worry about that.
- Never underestimate the power of human stupidity.
Do you mean the Multi allows you to fire at the same target? well you can fire the ML at the target the rest of the unit is firing at anyway, only the unit will not be able to utilise it.
Do you mean the Multi allows you to fire at a different target with the ML and the same target as the rest of the unit with the Carbine? Well this is hardly worth 10pts, 1 Pulse carbine shot is neither here nor there really.
Why would you want to pay 10pts for the ability to fire the carbine at the same target you fire the ML at. The two weapons have different ranges so the Carbine would not really be used that often anyway. Also 10pts for one carbine shot seems a bit steep.
One thing that is often missed. Multi trackers are only usable to fire Battlesuit weapons (check the rule on page 26). Fire Warriors and Path Finders have no access to Battlesuit weaponry so have no use for an MT. I am sure it is an oversight by GW but the rule is specific. I do not think it is a big issue because it does not offer any real benefits purchasing one.
Oh and MaleOpener! I find your user name slightly disturbing and dude stop giggling
Last edited by Rikimaru; May 24th, 2009 at 15:43.