Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Me and my brother played a game last night and he did something that some of our friends (and me, of course) were skeptical about.
His seer council charged a unit of my sisters of battle that only had 3 members standing. After the combat he rolled a 6 for his seer councils movement. After moving his seer council, my brother used his guardian jetbike's 6" asault phase move to grant his seer council cover.
I was always under the impression that the 6" move for jetbikes replaced the assault move, and, thus, would take place before combat.
Can somebody who knows better than us please clarify this for us? thanks.
p.s. my Callidus Assassin came into play that turn and wiped out his entire seer council, clenching the game. hurray! (that council scares the crap out of me, lol)
I'm sure that you use the move instead of assaulting. End of story really. But i don't have the books with me to check.
Looking at the rule book it simply says they "are allowed to move 6" in the Assault phase, even if they don't assault." (page 53)
That says nothing about when in the Assault phase (which includes resolving combats) they may move, so it sounds like moving to cover you seer council in your example may be allowed. The only thing I can see to the contrary is the "even if they don't assault" part, which suggests the move is instead of a normal assault move before any combats are resolved, but that's not really solid.
Thousand Sons ~2750 points | Eldar ~1000 points
Tzeentch Daemons ~2000 points
why did it matter if the counsel had cover, did were you going to use a weapon that would go through their invulnerable saves?
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
p. 53 under jetbikes has all you need to know. Essentially you may move 6" in the assault phase if you have an eldar jetbike. This may or may not be as part of an assault.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
Yup i've always kinda of thought that it happened at the end of the assault phase personally, since it isn't an assault move.
Another question i've kinda abused in the past is do you still get the eldar jet bike move even after you turbo boost? I've taken it a bunch but always secretly wondered if that was a legit move or not.
Last edited by FartsMcGee; May 28th, 2009 at 18:59.
The point of the rule is that you can make the 6" assault move in the phase even if your not assaulting another unit. No matter what you only move 6" + consolidation if you assaulted and won. So you can't move the 6" when assaulting and then move another "6 any more than you can move "6 and then make another "6 assault move. And so yes you can move flat out and then move the "6 assault move.
Last edited by hotcod; May 28th, 2009 at 19:02.
If he moved into assault he already made the move that was described.
You have 2 options
1. Assault up to 6 inches
2. Move up to 6 inches staying at least 1" away from enemy units.
Other kinds of units can only assault enemy units in the assault phase, we get either or, but not both.
I'm almost certain that you cannot move the extra 6" in the assault phase if you've turbo-boosted, as the assault move is a "voluntary action," and thus cannot be performed in the same turn as a turbo-boost was performed.
Scratchbuilding Fire Prism Crystals
2K Mech Eldar in 2010: 25Win/4Lose/8Draw
I totally agree with you that using the 6" of assault move after turbo boosting is probably not in spirit with the rules, but I can't find listed anywhere as an inappropriate move, much akin to the star engine move. Even though you didn't have a chance to shoot by going flat out, you still get to take the 12" of star engines. Likewise, even though i turbo boosted and gave up my chance to assault because its an eldar jet bike and I didn't assault, I still get to take another 6.
The star engine thing is legit to the F.A.Q. using the same logic i would think that the extra 6 is legit as well.