Psychic Abilities while in H/H Combat? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Psychic Abilities while in H/H Combat?

    Hi there ...
    Started playing Warhammer when I was given some Eldar figures.
    Been playing my friend's Necrons ..........

    Big debate has come up about the Farseer's psychic abilities - Doom, Fortune, Guide - being able to be used while the farseer is in hand-to-hand combat.
    I have been unable to find anything to indicate that he needs to be "unengaged" to be able to use them.
    I want to be able to use these abilities on troops outside of the H/H combat and he says "No Way", the farseer would be to busy trying to stay alive to be able to cast these spells on anybody outside of his immediate range.......

    Does anybody know what the ruling on this would be?

    DarkWolf.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkWolfe69 View Post
    Hi there ...
    Started playing Warhammer when I was given some Eldar figures.
    Been playing my friend's Necrons ..........

    Big debate has come up about the Farseer's psychic abilities - Doom, Fortune, Guide - being able to be used while the farseer is in hand-to-hand combat.
    I have been unable to find anything to indicate that he needs to be "unengaged" to be able to use them.
    I want to be able to use these abilities on troops outside of the H/H combat and he says "No Way", the farseer would be to busy trying to stay alive to be able to cast these spells on anybody outside of his immediate range.......

    Does anybody know what the ruling on this would be?

    DarkWolf.

    Aside from any shooting attacks, you're clear. Eldrad's staff states that he can use a third power per turn if not in assault, implying that the first two have no restriction on the matter.

    There's also no rule that states you can't use psychic powers in assault.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Agreed, there is not reason you cannot use 2 of his physic abilities while in CC. He is a beast of a farseer. His abilities are why you take a farseer in the first place, no reason he cannot use them while in cc.

    I am planning on running eldrad, with a seer counsil next game i play. Fortune, and doom ftw, even though i would hope i done need to doom lol. Wounding on a 2+ with a power weapon should clean up almost any unit.

    ---------- Post added at 18:59 ---------- Previous post was at 18:58 ----------

    Oh and having one enchance warlock in the group, means i should be able to hit on a 3+ most units.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    I was wondering can you Run then use your non shooting physic powers??

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cenedar View Post
    I was wondering can you Run then use your non shooting physic powers??
    No, all of the non-shooting psychic powers are done at the start of the movement phase, they have to be done before you even take your normal movement.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Hmm thanks for the info, this will help when im trying to fortune my avatar and staying within 6" of my farseer, while he is running lol.

    So really i can fortune and run both units. So they can be near each other.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thank you....
    This is what I have been trying to tell him (my friend). But I didn't know where or how to backup my arguments.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Age
    28
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    The problem your friend had was he was thinking in what it would feel like in a battle in real life terms rather than just looking at the rules. Of course even in real life terms, his argument does not stand for two reasons. The first is that he is not a BA ancient warrior, and the second is that he is not a psychic. Just tell him when he is an ancient warrior psychic, then can tell us all whether or not a farseer would be able to cast psychic powers in combat. That should shut him up.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    31
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    24 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cenedar View Post
    Wounding on a 2+ with a power weapon should clean up almost any unit.
    umm i dont think witchblades are power weapons, enemies still get their saves

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Siguy View Post
    umm i dont think witchblades are power weapons, enemies still get their saves
    No, but Eldrad's staff is a power weapon that wounds on 2+.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts