Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ok guys i am still relatively new to 40k and even newer to Eldar ( Started with Orks, but liked the Eldar flavor, Style better) . My questionis about the Avatar, he is a IC, but he is also a monstrous creature.. does that mean he can group up with my Farseer because of the IC status, or he cannot because of the Monstrous creature status?
Thanks a ton guys
Monstrous Creature status
"stupid overtime zombie virus."
"I'm glad that worked. Those would have been horrible last words."
His MC status overrides the IC status in the case, so I don't believe he can join any units.
And then there's the other stuff, such as can't enter transports, can't be join by IC's, and such.
Funnist warhammer moment ----> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kr2jlCyCJBI
Yea the avatar can't join a unit... back in the day he had a retinue called the court of the young king, which consisted of up to five exarchs, but thats long gone now.
Army: W/L/D -- Eldar 6/2/2; Orks 1/3/0; BA 1/1/0
The Tale of Two Gamers
Yeah that was some awesome stuff. The great court of the young isn't nearly as good as it should be imo.
wht_rbbt has hit the nail... But he has not nailed down the doubt about the Avatar being a "character"... I do not have my Eldar codex with me, but from memory, and from my army lists I see the Avatar is definitely a Monstrous Creature and a Unique Character (you may only have one in an army...). He is not an Independant Character though. [Edit : checked with Codex...]
As a MC he cannot be joined by an IC (BRB p.48 ).
Last edited by MurekZar; June 15th, 2009 at 20:15.
Children of Isha
Thanks a ton guys.. i was trying to figure out how to keep both fortune on him and on the far seer since i am dealing with alot of template weapons.. i need to keep the things keeping my avatar alive just as much as him
I wonder where the avatar is unique character? not like i will ever argue in real to field 2 of them but in theory i never see where it says is unique in codex or according to the rulebook (is not a named version of a regular hq)
Hight elf and Craftworld Eldar army project pics heavy: linky
It says that he is an individual on the points sheet, which I interpret to mean each player can only bring one rather than there can only be one per game.
It says after individual that "an army can only include one avatar". its seems pretty straight forward to me