Welcome to Librarium Online!
Being an Imperial Guard player, the Swooping Hawks grendade packs really frustrate me since they peirce armour. I have 2 question about them. Any clarification would be appreciated.
1) My Eldar playing friend seems to think that when he uses his grenade pack, you do not get cover from it. ( as long as the center of the pie plate doesnt scatter over cover) I dont even get cover when inside a builing with a roof. Where is the LOS counted from. What are your views on this.
2) Does the grenade pack count as a shooting attack in the sense that you cant attack one squad with the grenade pack and then attack a second after deep striking with their rifles.
Can somebody please clarify these questions for me.
Last edited by xXTrancerXx; June 15th, 2009 at 04:30.
We'll if I am correct, you'll get cover from the nade-pack if your in (in a forest or building) cover, and the nade-pack does not count as a shooting attack, as it happens when they come in.
"stupid overtime zombie virus."
"I'm glad that worked. Those would have been horrible last words."
grenade pack does NOT ignore cover, and does NOT count as a shooting attack.
Eldar: W-26, L-4, D-2, Tyranid: W-8, L-0, D-0
I wonder if you are destined to be forgotten. Will your life fade in the shadow of greater beings?
you get cover as if the shooting attack comes from center of the plate. So if you are on a roof on a building and the center is with you on that roof you get no cover . if is outside you get cover.
Hight elf and Craftworld Eldar army project pics heavy: linky
[Edit : checked with Codex, p.35 : as Frank Fugger says, its just a Large Blast weapon, not Barrage]
Last edited by MurekZar; June 15th, 2009 at 20:18.
Children of Isha
It's not a shooting attack, it's just something that happens when the Hawks arrive by DS. It's also not a Barrage weapon so you'd get cover from it same as you would from a normal Blast weapon.
I thought the large blast template always only gives cover saves from the center of the pie plate.
Other wise how would u work cover save, its not like their are standing on one side of the field throwing it. They are in the sky dropping it down. So how would i get cover from the sky other then a building?? That makes no sense at all.
The only problem is that in 40K a weapon can only use the rules assigned to it by it's type, and since the Grenade Pack is just a normal Large Blast weapon, as opposed to a Barrage weapon, you'd work out wether cover saves are allowed based on the position of the firer. It even says in the weapon description, "Work out hits and damage as normal."
It seems wrong to me too, but unfortunately them's the brakes.
Thanks for your help everybody