Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I think I was just having wishful thinking, but when I first got my book, I gave my wyche squads 2 blasters each thinking they were like melta pistols or something.
Since then, I found an old incubi model with a gun (assuming it is a blaster since that's the only other choice they have in weapons) and noticed it's double-handed. I've looked in the book and can't find anywhere a specification or clarification. Anyone have something concrete? I'm thinking I may drop a couple of blasters off my wyche squad if that's the case cause I'm assuming they lose their splinter pistol and CCW if the blaster is a 2 handed weapon.
As far as I know, even though you add the Blaster it does not replace the Pistol and CC weapon it just adds to it. They would then have a Pistol, CC weapon, and Blaster. There would be no problem with them switching weapons as they run in to CC.
Unless of course the Codex says that it replaces their other weapons. I don't have my Codex handy so I can't check.
Eyes without life, maggot-ridden corpses, mountains of skulls.
These are some of my favourite things.
- Dracon Borkor
The wording in the codex for the wyches and incubi is that "the model may be armed with a . . ," not upgrade or replace. I would take this to mean that the blaster/shredder is in addition to the pistol/ccw or punisher for that matter.
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
Nothing terribly concrete - welcome to the Dark Eldar codex.
At our store the additional weapons you buy do replace the your previous set of weapons so an Incubi with a blaster does not have a punisher as well. Same goes for the wyches, take a blaster and you lose the extra attack.
As for determining if blasters are 2-handed or not, I say they are but that is just a opinion. Sure, the wyches carry it one handed but the warriors and Incubi do not and those models do not show the anything else.
I would ask the people you play with and ask them how you guys want to play it - there is no concrete answer you'll find here in the forum.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
Smack on target Kwi!
I believe that if the ‘standard’ weaponry (as in what comes standard/free of charge) is optioned out then you have chosen to replace what the model originally has.
So if an Incubi chose to option off his Punisher and pick up a Blaster then that is what he is armed with only.
And if a Wych chose to option off their pistol/close combat weapon and pick up a Blaster then that is what he is armed with only.
Handedness doesn’t come into this at all since we are looking at ‘Options’ only.
But if we are talking Wargear that becomes an addition to the standard weaponry and handedness could now become an issue.
Much like Kwi this is my opinion gleaned from talking to games designers and veterans over the years about the differences between ‘Options’ and ‘Additions.’
Two handed weapons have usually given the carrier a strength bonus if combat orientated or classed as a heavy weapon if ballistic based and since a Blaster is treated in the same way as a Dark Lance I would say that (if I had to give a classification, but it really is pointless) they are two handed whereas the Shredder is not – again just my opinion here as its not well written into the rules.
Last edited by Wicky; June 22nd, 2009 at 01:22.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
I haven't done this, but you'd have a strong case if you modeled the pistol+ccw on your Wyches and referred players to the wording in the unit's options in our codex.
The argument that GW forgot to add pistol+ccw to the model is equally as strong as the argument that GW messed up on the wording.
As far as what type of weapon the Blaster is, even the Wych holding it with one hand is not holding any other weaponry in his other hand. It's just a two-handed weapon he happens to be raising high as a taunt of sorts. Perhaps he's yelling his battle cry as well.
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; June 22nd, 2009 at 04:03.
HAWH! You get rep for that one Wicky!
... I don't quite know why... <__<
so, the way I see it, if giving your wyches a blaster causes them to lose the splinter pistol and close combat weapon, so does giving your wyches grenades.