Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
when you glace a normal vehicle over and over and over again you eventually end up detroying it. I played a small game with a friend who wanted too try out a monolith, but i never thought too bring any Lascannons because i had a battle cannon and plenty of melta weaponry.
Come too learn that monoliths are immune too stuff like melta weapons chain fists and monstrous creature extra Die. I also learned that the monolith just losses shots when suffering WDs and just hits the ground and doesn't crash if Imobolised... so in short i actually lacked the ability too get rid of it, which sucked cause it DSed into my gunline.
Since a monolith can only generate 6 shots (each) from a Guass flux, is it finally wrecked after 6 WDs and a Imobo or is it basically gonna just stay on tables till its finally pened by a 9 or 10 str shot(or roll lucky on a melta weapon and get a 6-2+1?) i'd hate too realy on a high melta shot considering its a short range gun
To glance it to death, yes you need 6 weapon destroyeds to take out it's flux arc (at least that's the sensible house-ruling of it). Unless you take lascannons, walk those meltaguns up and start rolling 6s! You could also look into other high S weapons though, Basilisk could work, or any of those other big nasty cannons you folks get (and seriously how do you scatter off a monolith?)
Wait, 6 WD's to DESTROY IT!?
I thought it was 4 to remove the SIDE arcs, then 1 more would destroy it...6, how so??? It's D6 shots, not 6 guns.
Our ruling on that is clear, it models only 4 guns on the monolith for Flux Arc, not 6. Hence 4 WD's disables Flux arc, 5th destroys it. Just because it's capable of 6 shots doesn't mean it has 6 guns (Example: Gauss flayer can shoot twice in 12", but it's only 1 gun.)
Last edited by Dark Trainer; June 26th, 2009 at 20:48.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
Yes but in the FAQ it states that only one shot is removed per ENEMY therefore they need 6 to make the weapon unusable. Really it sounds like you can't actually KILL the monolith with glancing, since you can never actually destroy all it's weapons, just make them have less shots, however that's rediculous, so most people decided to just take it out once it's weapons are negated (since you can't disable the particle whip)
lol my opinion is just avoid the thing and try to phase your enemy out, or get away from it, because remember especially on a crowded table, the monolith has a hard time moving (thats why i barely use it now)
but thats just my opinion.
My Tomb Kings Project
RAW, their is no way to destroy the guass flux arc, as it only gets -1 to its D6 and it says nothing about counting as destroyed when it totals 6 or greater. Not only that but theirs is also an argument that the particle whip counts as a weapon since its listed in the list of weapons. As the case you can't destroy it with glances alone
Which is why most people use house rule, talk to your gaming group on the matter and wait unitl either a new FAQ or Codex is out
My take on how many shots it would take to destroy a Monolith would be 8weapon destroyed/Immobilised results.
The particle whip doesnt count as its not a weapon just the release of energy from the Power Matrix.
You would need 6 weapon destroyed results to stop it firing,or immobilised results to downgrading to weapon destroyed,an Immobilised result to get it to sink down to the greound then an 8th weapon destroyed/immobilised result to upgrade to destroyed wrecked.
There's the 4 funs, the crystal then 1 more and it's gone.
Vampire Counts Progress Log [W:2 D:1 L:1]
I know it's not official, and it's just a ruling for one tournament set, and not all, but, for the Adepticon tourneys their FAQ states:
Q: Can a Monolith ever be immobilized
just by suffering enough ‘Weapon Destroyed’ results?
A: No, as the Monolith will always have a functioning weapon
(the Power Matrix) that cannot be destroyed [RAW].
And their FAQ is written by the same ruling council as the official GW ones.
My 40k Blog: http://ondeathswings.blogspot.com/
Necron - 1500pts (WIP) [6W/3L/2D] (Retired 'til new codex)
Blood Angels - 1500pt (WIP) [6W/2L/2D]
I've always gone with the notion that my monolith can never be destroyed with just glances. As mentioned, the Power Matrix can't be destroyed by glancing or any other setup. But then again most armies have something that can take it out. It might be something obvious like a Broadside team firing railguns or something less likely to succeed like a Furious Charging Space Marine with a Powerfist.
Failing that, just avoid it. It's a big slow moving pyramid. If it wants to fire it's Particle whip it can't move since it's Ordnance. Unless your opponent hides everything behind it and you don't have qanything with a range greater then 24 inches, you should be able to cause a phase out if you focus on everything else.