Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hello fellow Necron players..
For some time I considered a list in which I would hold back most of my warriors and let them arrive from monoliths as they became ready, however I abandoned the concept as I think I read somewhere on this forum that phase out only works for models on the board (ie. you don't count models in reserve). Now I have been looking through the whole codex and FAQ, but I just can't seem to find it anywhere, if it's true could anyone please give me a reference? Or tell me so if it's not..
Thanks in advance ; )
models in reserves count
so don't worry about it
that was all I needed to hear, thank you ; )
But then there is still the chance that you role terrible on the reserves, or you monolith takes a lucky Str 9 hit, and suddenly they are all counted as dead because they have no way of showing up.
(I had thought of this too, but abandoned it because I always roll CRAP for reserves, if anyone has a really good list for this, i'd love to see it)
If you want them to come through the portal I find it much safer to already have the squad on the table and in range. A little inconvenient if the Monolith DS into/behind enemy lines but if you're that close to the enemy you probably wouldn't use the portal anyway.
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
Ok, the part you're confusing is if all monoliths are destroyed and units that were going to PORTAL in, they become LOST and no longer count towards phase out.
HOWEVER, with 5th edition I thought you can CHOOSE before the game starts portal OR table edge. If you're just trying to keep em back, bring them in via table edge and regardless you're set. Or maybe portal some, table edge the others?
ALSO, don't do what I did my first deepstriking monolith game. ROLL your necrons AND roll your monoliths. What I mean is, say your warriors are GRANTED entry, but no MONOLITH is in play...they WAIT until your monolith comes into play. What I did (and WRONG) was rolled for 2 turns to let my monolith in, THEN rolled my warriors...don't MISS a roll is what I'm getting at (hope that made some sense).
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
I guess thanks for the extra replies, but as I said, all I needed was the confirmation of whether models in reserve counts or not, I assumed yes from reading the rules, but recalled having read somewhere that they wouldn't count.
@Dark: ... What's with the EMPHASIZING there?
Warriors won't just wait, you did it right first game, according to the FAQ if there's no available monolith it's the same as getting 'delayed' on the DS mishap table, which means roll again next turn.
Also I'm well aware that I must choose whether I want to enter from the tableedge or the portals beforehand, and I believe there's some advantages to choosing the portals.
Last edited by LastDinosaur; June 30th, 2009 at 00:32. Reason: spelling