Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey all this may seem like a very dumb question, but i was just re-reading the rules about cover and i have seem to ran into a brick wall here. I've never used grotz but i've been thinking about investing in some of them more and more. The only problem is, how does there cover work? If the enemy is targeting the unit of boyz behind the grotz does that mean that if that unit rolls the 4+ cover save, then no unit is harmed? Or do one of the grotz get damaged? If they do not get harmed im assuming most enemy armies would shoot the grotz first then the boyz? Or do they typically shoot through them and just accept the 4+ Save?
Also, if its a unit of shoota boyz following the grotz, would it also be teh same 4+ cover save for the enemy? Or because there friendly allies does it not count towards the enemy?
sorry if this seems ridiculously easy to learn i just can't seem to figure it out through the wording of my rulebook. Thanks a bunch in advance guys!
Well, I think taht the Grotz just effect line of sight and that if they cover up most of an orks body but not all of it the ork gets a cover save.
firing through a unit (regardless of obscurement, just so long as > 1/2 the unit is behind the grots) = a 4 up cover save.
And, opponents will shot at the grots in some situations, it depends on what's firing and what the opponent expects to be able to do in assault.
but with that cover save does it mean that whatever you "save" from the unit being shot at just has to get tested to the grotz also? or are the grotz not effected at all? Thanks a lot for your replies though!
If the unit behind the grots is the target of the attack, there is nothing done to the grots. In that situation, think of them like a living piece if terrain, they won't take damage from being shot through.
Applaud, my friend, the Comedy is finished.
Hive Fleet Charybdis (1-0-0) and Grey Brothers Space Wolf Chapter (3-1-2) [W-L-T]
As I just found out, shooting through friendly units grants a cover save to the enemy unit. So much for hiding my lootas and Big Guns behind a giant 30 grot screen (that can also spread out and grab two objectives)...
There's a fairly easy way to avoid confusion. Just remember this simple rule:
Unless you're using a template weapon (such as a flamer, blast, or ordnance weapon), it's impossible to hit or wound anything besides the unit you're directly firing at.
This is for game balance, and to reflect the fact that it's nearly impossible to get a killing blow against an enemy if you're not actually targeting them. You might nick them, or send a few shots bouncing off their helmets, but unless you're directly aiming for them, or using a weapon that hits everything in an area, you aren't going to do enough damage to kill any of them.
There's often a bit of confusion with grots, because in the old codex they granted a full cover save to Orks behind them, and since back in those days it was far more difficult to get cover saves, that was a big deal.
So it doesn't matter what's blocking your line of sight, even if it's another unit. A successful cover save results in no wounds to anything.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
thank you very much grax! that's just the answer i was looking for