Welcome to Librarium Online!
Just for giggles I was reading through the list of special abilities both C'tan get (like the death explosion) and found thisAnd it occured to me that while I don't actually know what any of those things listed are (an explination from someone familiar with them would be nice), it sounds a lot like FNP. I'm pretty sure FNP is taken before the wound is suffered, like a saving throw, but it's also granted by medics (or at least the IG's get it from medics), which sounds to me like simply saying that they are using medical equipment to save them, and should be ignored like the list above.Drain Life: A C'tan's close combat attacks drain the life energy from it's opponents. Any model reduced to 0 Wounds by a C'tan will not regenerate or recover because of bionics, nartheciums, exsanguinators, or any similar wargear.
Has anyone else noticed this? If this is brought up elsewhere, a link would be nice too, I just haven't seen any reference to it anywhere, and thought it's worth pointing out.
Feel No Pain is a special rule, not a piece of wargear, and the rule you quoted specifically refers to "... or any similar wargear." So even if Feel No Pain could be classified as being the same as the items listed in the rule, it is still exempt from it due to its special rule nature.
Well, bionics was basically a WBB save on 6+, due to the possibility that just the guy's bionic arm fell off instead of his head. You don't get any saves from a c'tan attack. So, due to that, you get no FnP anyway...
Regardless of whether FNP is a 'special rule' or wargear, FNP states that if a model "suffers an unsaved wound, roll a dice" If the save fails, "take the wound as normal (removing the model if it loses its final wound)".
As such, the FNP triggers even before the wound is taken. The model never reached 0 wounds and the C'tan's ability doesn't come into affect.
The old rules for Bionics and such were very similar to WBB such that you lay it on its side, etc.
And i only know one no-necron who works like this, commisar Yarrik.
If you kill commisar Yarrik with a c'tan, he won't get to be back at 3+. He is dead. So, remember that when playing against imperial guard.
This is all a moot point. FNP can not be taken against attacks which allow no armor saves (i.e. power weapons) and C'tan attacks allow no armor saves.
Woops, hehe, not only did I not notice the "Ignores even invul saves" hidden under Monsterous Creature, but I forgot/didn't know/skipped over the part of FNP that talks about when you can't roll it (power weapons). I should have known though, since it works like a dumbed down WBB, it was pretty late when I posted this thread, so ignore me entirely
Thanks for setting me straight though, and the tip about Commisar Yarrik probably wouldn't have occured to me, so that's useful since the guy I play against with the IG army keeps trying to take him, so next time I'll be ready