Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Sorry if this has been posted but my search didn't dig up this particular query :s
I'm currently painting up a broodlord and ten 'stealers to infiltrate/outflank with him and i had built them with a rough idea of what they'd have in mind; the broodlord would carry the feeder tendrils, thus giving preferred enemy to the whole squad, and i'd give the stealers flesh hooks as a starter, to immediately get over any cover.
i had initially had it in mind that in this way, the genestealers get the benefits of rocking both bio-morphs, whilst the broodlord would have to wait to strike last when assault enemies in cover seeing he didn't have flesh hooks.
fair enough i thought, ten stealers (at most) should be enough especially if i have the points for STs and even TS.
but then i saw the flesh hooks for a broodlord don't count against his 'mouth' biomorphs. bonus! he can strike ahead of everyone now!
now in reading a couple of posts over forums, i'm unsure how assault (or offensive, i forget the name) grenades work exactly ; does every model need to be equipped with them to be able to negate the benefits of striking at I when assaulting an enemy in cover? or is it only so long as one model in the unit has them, they benefit from this rule?
in which case i can just buy the flesh hooks for the BL giving him two brood-wide benefits he bestows (until he dies that is, and obviously the genestealers couldn't move over vertical surfaces, whatever that additional ruling is).
as an aside do people tend to beef out their broodlords too? extended carapace, adrenal sacs, toxin sacs too?
I only upgrade him if I have the points to spare. I'm quite minimalist with mine, and he seems to work just fine.
I give him feeder tendrils and a retinue of 5 stealers with extended carapace.
If Google were a woman...I would so marry her.
I always go with flesh hooks. Nothing worse than stealers attacking last in combat.
Last edited by TamCoan; July 7th, 2009 at 20:56.
My Broodlord has feeder tendrils and flesh hooks. He doesn't seem to need much more than that,
I have a retinue of 6 'Stealers with Flesh hooks, Scything Talons and Toxin Sacs.
Together they can much through most opponents. Lots of rending attacks striking first.
I usually run mine with Flesh Hooks, Feeder Tendrils, and Toxin Sacs. I'll toss in extended carapace if I have the points.
Flesh Hooks and Feeder Tendrils are taken from Obvious reasons, and I like the Toxin Sacs for the ability to wound space marines on a 2+, as well as becoming a sizable threat to vehicles.
Other stuff isn't really that important. IA makes him a great character killer, but good luck getting him there. And Besides, you Want Feeder Tendrils, and IA takes up that slot. Same thing goes for Acid Maw. Adrenal Glands are a waste, since you there is no need for more initiative when the nothing But An Eldar Phoenix Lord and a few Dark Eldar Characters can even Challenge your speed.
As for the Genestealers, I just Run them with Flesh Hooks and Scuttlers. Adding Extended Carapace in on top of that makes them too expensive for mt tastes. I'd rather just have more for when the wave comes.
fair call peeps
i'm going to play it that the broodlord will bring the flesh hooks along with the stealers, but reading the rules on grens, i don't see where every model in a unit needs to be armed with offensive grenades to all be able to benefit from them.
but its a bit unfair to pull a stunt like that i suppose
Wyvern: are you equipping the stealers with the broodlord with scuttlers? because what's the point, the b'lord already makes them infiltrate?
As for the Grenade rule, Check the Paragraph on Assault Grenades on the bottom of page 36 of the rulebook. The last sentence of that paragraph lets us know that It is *models* with grenades don't take the penalty for assaulting through cover, not units. So anyone without them will still go last.
Last edited by Wyvern; July 7th, 2009 at 23:42.
ahhhh gotcha, thanks dude