Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey guys, been only playing for a short while and was wondering about one thing i noticed in the errata.
Considering the errata & FAQ sheet re-worded that any two ranged weapon symbiotes of the same type become a single twin-linked weapon, can you therefore have 2 twin-linked Barbed Stranglers or Venom Cannons (or 1 of each) on a monstrous creature such as a carnifex since they can mount 2 different ranged weapon symbiotes?
There is no "can only have one of" rule in the carnifex entry for these 2 weaps and the errata's changing of their wording to state a twin-linked weapon as a "single" weapon caught my eye. If one had the points to spend it would be nice to give them this option.
If you can't, then why bother changing the wording in the errata?
Kind of a newb question, but had to ask for clarification
In the codex you can only "select 2 options form the folowing list." Their is not an entry that says twinlinked barb strangler. in short you can't pick 2 twinlinked vennom cannons because there is no Twin linked vennom cannon.
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
When you choose weapons for your models if you buy two of one weapon, that weapon will become twinlinked and it will count as two weapons. If a Tyranid warrior takes two deathspitters they will become a twinlinked deathspitter and use up both it's slots for weapons. You cannot have two twinlinked barbed stranglers or two twinlinked venom cannons on a Carnifex, you can have one and it will count as two weapons. The model must be allowed to normally take two of the weapon to do this.
If a Tyranid weapon is listed as twinlinked in the list then that weapon will use up one slot instead. The twinlinked devourer or deathspitter for the Tyrant and Carnifex only use one slot so you can take two of them on one model. Tyranid warriors can twinlink their weapons with the exception of the venom cannon and barbed strangler. Each Warrior brood is only allowed one of these weapons and so they can't be twinlinked.
Last edited by Leech; July 9th, 2009 at 22:40.
Damn. Oher then where the weapon comes TL'ed already in the carny entry such as the devourer etc, was hoping the errata's re-wording meant a very nice option for the BS and/or VC: grab 2 *of the some one* and they count as 1 (single) TL'ed ranged weapon symbiote.
I wonder why they felt the need to make a specific entry in the errata to include that wording...
I appreciate the responces guys, but the codex by itself would support your reasonings.
My question now is what is the errata trying to state with the re-wording? If it was important enough to put in an official errata what exactly do they mean?
Thanks for the help guys and anyone else feel free to keep sending me your takes on this
Last edited by Vorrakk; July 10th, 2009 at 04:28. Reason: Trying to clarify my question
Not sure why they chose to reword that one while at the same time missing the obvious "hole" of a lictor wounding itself when it deploys... My only thought is they felt many were confused with dual weapons on nids so tried to make it clearer.
Which errata are you referring to? I can't remember which is the latest.
It's due to a slight change in wording that could be misconstrued. In the original codex it simply says that two of the same weapon are counted as twin-linked, and could be interpreted as saying "Taking two of the same weapon gives you two TL weapons". Slight stretch but the ability is there in RAW form. The FAQ clears up that two of the same weapon become ONE TL weapon. Hope that helps.
yeah, i agree... They must have included the word "single" to indicate rate of fire (2 weaps=1 TL weap=the rate of fire for 1 of said weapon, but with the TL effect).
Thanks a bunch guys!
"We're not evil... we're just hungry"