Welcome to Librarium Online!
This may not be the right place for these questions but I figured I'd ask me fellow orks before bringing it elsewhere..
I have a friend who's recently jumped into 40k and is playing Necrons. He has 2 monoliths that he likes to play them both, even in smaller games. Although I've found the best strategy to be just ignore them as much as I can, I was wondering if I CAN kill it, short of a Warboss/Walkers or lucky SAG/ZAPP shots?
My question is, do my nobs in my squad of boys get their +1 strength from Furious Charge so I can actually take these things down with them? I don't think the Living Metal special rule negates Furious Charge.. it only seems to mention stuff like Lances/Melta/Ordanance.
Also, in the Monolith entry it says "... it will not drift if stunned or shaken ...". I don't know what that drifting is all about but does this mean it's immune to stunned/shaken results?
Yes, furious charge "works" against the monolith. It's perfectly legal to have +1S, same as chaos gifts giving +1S, for example.
However, things like MCs, powerfists, meltas, only get 1d6, and lance's don't reduce its armor.
Unless the FAQ has been updated, it could still be argued whether powerfists double their strength vs. the monolith, but if you encounter a necron player who argues that, feel free to make him eat his monolith (and I'm a necron player too!)
"Politics is the womb in which war develops"
Ok first off, total props on your name. One of my favorite segments of any simpsons episode and I will likely drift off into thinking back onto it as I'm typing (welcome to Lee Carvalo's putting challenge...)
...Back on track!
Your best way of killing it, nay, your only way, will be up close and personal with warbosses & nobz. You do get your +1 Strength from furious charge as it is not an extra die roll that you would get from say tankbusta bombs or the Zzap! power from weirdboyz.
The drifting rule does not exist in 5th edition and exposes how the Necrons need some updates from 3rd edition. You can ignore the comment about drifting. Back in 3rd edition skimmers would move d6" in a random direction if they were stunned that turn just fyi.
Thank you both fo the quick replys. Those Monoliths will be rubble yet.
And thank you Gorfang for the name props!
The House always wins.
we both know that monoliths and necrons arent what you should be scared of.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!
Maybe I am missing something but I believe living metal also says something along the lines as only the users unaugmented str +1d6 will be used for armor pen values. And I am pretty sure +1 to str is augmenting the users str value. So I think the actual answer is yes you can use Furious charge (getting + 1 init bonus but not the str bonus)
Yep you get to use the strength.
Verified from the Necron Codex.
Living metal does two things.
1 - it prevents reduction of AV
2 - attackers do not get extra armor penetration dice
It doesn't reduce strength of weapons or any other modifiers.
Note that ordnance weapons STILL get to roll 2 dice and select the highest - once again from the necron codex.
but surely furious charge being +1 strength is augmented, i have another question, sorry not trying to steal the thread, wat about big choppas, do they get their +2 strength, also, has anyone thought about tankhammers
These are my blue dice, There are many more like them, But these ones are mine.
The rules for "Living Metal" makes no mention of augmented strength, but rather says that those that gain bonuses in armour penetration (ie. Meltaguns, chainfists - both having 2D6+S, rather than D6+S) do not get the extra bonus roll. This means they'll be rolling D6 rather than 2D6.
Nowhere does it mention that augmented strength (furious charge, power fists etc) are negated. The answer to the question then, is yes. You will still gain the extra strength from the furious charge ability.