Welcome to Librarium Online!
It has come up a couple times now that, in my opponents shooting phase, my Unit of Nobs is an attractive target and takes some heavy firing. As a result the painboy is an unlucky causualty early on in the phase.
I always was under the impression that all shooting in a player turn happens simultaneously. Not sure I dreamed that or read it. So when that first unit firing at the Nobs happens to finsih off the painboy, do I still recieve Feel No Pain for the rest of my opponents shooting phase, or do I lose that special rule the moment the Painboy bites it?
The model conferring the ability must be alive for the ability to be used. So, yes, the painboy has to be alive for you to gain the FnP ability. Shooting is done unit by unit, not simultaneously.
Now that said, suppose you're in combat and you suffer a bunch of wounds. If your painboy happens to die, you will still get your FNP saves for all other saves you have to make at that same initiative value since that is simultaneous.
I am puzzled
During shooting you would remove your painboy instead of any other nob?
Why! unless you really need a PK attack somewhere, but then still, i don't see how it could be a problem, unless i have misunderstood somthing here, and you can't chose who takes the wounds.
"We's da best at drive into shooting"
Wazzog warboss of the piledrivers
Just save your Painboy for last.
Solves all these problems.
The main probelm why this happens is wound allocation. If your unit takes that many shoots that your pain boy must take saves then there is a problem that you can't ignor. And when that happens you lose FNP.
You should save the painboy for last even if you have to take a wound on your warboss.
You can allocate wounds to him, just roll his saves last.
As the others have mentioned this has been a problem when the nobs squad has already been whittled down to 4-5-6 members and I'm facing rolling 15+ wounds. I don't have a choice but to allocate 3 to the painboy.
Right, so you roll his saves last so everybody else benefits from FNP.
Right ==Me==. however all the shooting from one unit to another happens at the same time, correct? So even if I rolled the painboys wounds first and crocked I would get FNP for the remainer of the wounds caused by that unit.
My question was do I continue to get FNP for the rest of that player turn from OTHER units firing at the Nobs. But it appears I do not, since the painboy is dead and the firing from every unit doesn't happen simultaneously on a player turn.