Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hi again guys, had a battle today against necrons and the guy played his monolith as deep strike. He put it down and never rolled scatter then on a rematch rolled scatter and hit terrain. Now reading from the codex you don't roll on mishap chart for landing on units as the get pushed out to the sides by 1". (here's the biggy) How ever it doesn't say anywhere in the codex that if it hits terrain it does the same. Also do you roll the normal roll for deepstrike to get it onto the field ( turn 2 - 4+ Etc..)
Other than not getting mishaps for landing on units, the Monolith follows all other rules of Deep Strike. This covers
So if the other player isn't following those rules, you are allowed to call shenanigans.
Yes, there's still a very real possibility of the Monolith immobilizing itself on the terrain pieces.
Also, note that the Codex doesn't say it ignores Mishap. This is an unfortuante 5th ed nerf. The Codex says that if the Monolith were to be destroyed, instead, move it. In other words, you still have to roll the mishap table, and on a result of 1-2, the Codex takes over. It's still entirely possible to roll up a next-turn or opponent places result for the thing.
I think I'm with Alzer on this one, and that's just old wording, I know Rules Lawyers will fight me on it (good thing I only play friendly games), but I go by the spirit of the rules and what they meant to say, and in my opinion it says ignore units for determining whether or not a mishap has happened.
(Copy, Paste boilerplate)
But as with any confusing rules, work it out with your opponent(s)/Referee to ensure you are all on the same page (and if you can't decide, dice off)
I have another DEEP striking Monolith question. So I got called on this the last time I played and couldn't find the support I had 'assumed' in the book. He allowed it, but with consideration.
Example: Monolith deep strikes, cannot fire Gauss flux arc as of 5th edition on that turn. However you CAN use the energy matrix which means PARTICLE whip or Portal. But his argument was the particle whip is Str 9 and goes against the deep strike ruling on that.
So my question is, was he right? If that's the case then TECHNICALLY the portal couldn't be used same turn since it's the SAME tool. It's an EITHER/OR thing.
I really need some help with this, it's bugging the heck out of me and I keep getting even more nerfed with those I play with
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
If you need to argue for use of the Portal than point out that the Portal is used in the movement phase and therefore can't count as shooting. There is no official way to rules-lawyer this so come to a consensus with your opponent, if they're a prick about it then roll a dice, if they don't want to roll a dice than find another opponent
Last edited by counterwavecounter; July 16th, 2009 at 17:12.
"The man in the bowler hat is Mr. Average in his anonymity. I, too, wear one; I have no great desire to stand out from the masses." - Rene Magritte
What the heck does strength have to do with deep striking and firing?
the Power Matrix ignores movement, so the PArticle Whip can be fired regardless of the speed it went
And even when people disagree with me on that, which I know will happen a lot, the Particle Whip is immune to everything that stops it from being able to fire, except for using it to portal instead, so it can still work.
the monolith goes at cruising speed when deep striking, theirs nothing preventing it from going at cruising speed
Exactly. The Ponderous rule states only that the Monolith may only move up to 6" at once. It doesn't say anything about preventing the crusing speed from a Deep Strike.
To the OP: You're looking for the Particle Whip rules listed under the Power Matrix section on the Monolith's page. The Power Matrix can always be used regardless of movement restrictions, and as such, you can always fire the particle whip. Gauss Arc Flux is out though, unfortunately.