Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was hoping for a little clarification on the reserves and the Monolith. I know it says under the Lith that they have to enter play once the Lith is available on the board, reference to the Warrior special rule. But all armies can hold all units in reserve now, and even in the tournament FAQs they state to ignore the Warrior special Reserve rule.
So, do they have to come even if you want to want them to, plus, does the squad have to roll on the reserves table to come out or not? The question is layered so hopefully someone can sort it out for me, haha. Thanks!
Alright, when DSing a monolith from reserves, and deploying Warriors from Reserves in turn through said monolith, both units roll for reserves. If the monolith enters first, it may play as normal until the warriors are available, at which point they must be deployed from a monolith. If the warriors are available first, then as soon as the monolith is available they must be deployed through it.
For Warriors and reserves, I'd say that you should decide pre-battle (if you have a monolith) whether you want them to be in reserves for normal deployment or deployment via monolith, and inform your opponent which they are. Alternatively you could have an "either or" scenario, where when the warriors are ready, they are deployed normally unless the monolith is already on the field, in which case they deploy from the monolith instead. I'll have to check up on the FAQ, Rules and Codex, and other clarification would help, but this is what i figure would work.
I have a Monolith and some warriors I want to DS into range, since I'm fighting a Tau friend that loves his rails aims for it first. I also have some heavies that will come on to take out said rails, since he focuses on the Lith so much. But I want to DS the Lith to get my warriors into shooting range, and he doesn't use Kroot so I'm not worried about an assault on my guys.
So I would declare I'm reserving the Lith and some warriors, on turn two, I roll trying to get a 4+ on both lith. If the lith doesn't come out, i'm just delayed til next turn for everything I guess. If the lith is availalbe, then if they roll to deploy, out they come of the portal.
A side question that my friends and I have debated is if the Lith rolls on the mishap table if it lands on something or near units. The original rule meant nothing happened at all to it, but now that we have a table, is it the original rule that nothing bad happens, or still roll but on a 1-2 nothing happens, but 3-6 still affects it?
Well, we played and said nothing happens to the monolith, so that's how that goes, lol. Another question is if I have two units of warriors in reserve for the Lith portal, and they both become availabe after the lith DS in, how is that handled? Is the first unit forced to run to make room? Or is the Lith "not available" since the exit is blocked? Sort of the same for one unit coming out on say turn 2 from the portal and the warriors rapid fire, then on turn 3 the second unit is ready. Blocked and therefore delayed or something else like an emergency exit?
If there's no hard and fast rule, then we'll just make a house rule amonst ourselves again I guess.
Last I checked, monolith can only 'port one unit per turn.
One thing I'd be worried about is what if you scatter into the middle of a unit, and they end up completely surrounding the monolith, leaving no room to get the warriors out.
Of course in this situation I'd tank shock them, move away a bit, then deploy, which means they can only get within 2" and can't move, but oh well, making a unit run (or kill one model) is worth it
Anyways, images of terminators getting ground into tiny pieces aside, the simple awnser to all "blocked portal" questions is that the monolith can move before porting them (though there are restrictions on what the Necrons coming out can do after it moves)
Last edited by Adalias; July 16th, 2009 at 13:47.
Ah you're right about the one unit per turn so that nixes the first example. The only thing that made me question the second example then, is in the deployment of reserves in the rule book, that you roll at start of the turn, and then when all is deployed you can continue the movement phase. it says something like you can't delay to deploy them to your benefit. I guess I could just change the facing since that's not techincally "moving" it, bringing the portal around to let out the other warriors.
Sorry I was thinking of tactics with normal portalling units, havn't actually tried DSing yet, but will in my next game, hopefully this week, but really whenever my friend finally makes a list.
Yeah you're right it is before the movement phase, but you can't turn it either, that is moving, and counts as moving for all the stupid things like shooting, disembarking (which is what the normal portal is) ect.
So if at the "Deployment Phase" you find the portal is blocked, then I would check the rules for "Emergency Disembarking" (5th edition core rulebook, page 57) I imagine this would be the monolith floating up above the people surrounding it, and spinning, hurling warriors out in every direction. It takes a turn to crawl back to their feet
Anyways, easiest solution is then to clear the portal by moving after someone gets out, so if it's needed next time, it can be used. No help if some power-fisting smurfs charge it, but oh well.
Ah damn... The one thing I hate about this game, it's impossible to get exactly the plan you want when disembarking from transports. In this case quickly unload two units (over two turns of course) and rapid fire into the enemy. Or the same would be said of disembarking some BA and assaulting. Only the Land Raider can do that for you and I'm not into running those yet.
Anyway, I want to DS and unload troops because I mostly fight Tau as I've said before, and I'm not slogging it into his Str 5 weapons for over half the board. I have a fast attack circus planned out for killing things, but this would be a mid game strike at an objective he holds with firewarriors.
Personally, when I drop the 'Lith into the thick of things (done it once) I don't want to deploy warriors too, cause I loose the Particle Whip, last I checked, 6 hits isn't going to kill anybody reliably, and I use the pie plate for most of the killing he does.
(although I can imagine dropping into the middle of a clustered army, within 12" of every unit they have, and slapping them all. It would be worth it just to see the other guy's face)
Anyways, for your tactic, you can do it (but your not going to like it) by deep striking the "lith, disembarking a unit of warriors, then they have to "Run" out of the disembark zone, and 2nd turn you can drop the other warriors and give 'em 40 rapid shots.
The other way is just using one unit of warriors (why did you want to use 2, that's overkill I think, and is about 500 points locked in reserves). This way you can give them 20+D6 shots where they thought they were safe in a single turn.
The tactic I would use is reserve the 'lith, and drop him, shoot the bejezus out of the defending troops first thing, then 'portal in a warrior unit within 18" to hold the objective, and both them and the monolith can move after a stationary disembark. Or if you don't like the particle whip, portal in on the DS turn too.
Well, I guess I was jsut thinking of having more feet on the ground would be good, but I do love me some particle whip action. A friend of mine said a better way to get 2 units up quick like that is one lith porting in the first and then a Lord with Veil DS from somewhere else on the board on same turn with the other unit. I could get my 40 rapid fire shots and then the D6 from the Lith. My only fear is the squad getting telefragged. Or if I drift more that 12" away I have no shot and they are in the open.
Tho you do make a good arguement for say, walking the warriors from the DZ the first couple turns and DS'ing the lith so it can put down some pie plates and then when it comes down to the last couple turns, port in the warriors to claim it if possible. Hmm...