Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hello, ive recently run into a strange debate with an opponent, i was attempting a silly list with 20 immortals with a veil lord, and he said to me it was ilegal, veil has a cap on how many models it can move.
is that true?
My Tomb Kings Project
You may only teleport a single unit with your lord, no more. So the max number of Immortals you could move is 10. In a way your friend is right, however the restriction is not number of models, but number of units instead.
Alzer is right, immortals are max 10. However 20 warriors could be what he was referring to as a problem. And I'm not sure if he is correct (kind of like the monolith portal has a MAX number of warriors that can be portalled and still be in coherence).
I'm assuming he's saying since the lord is the center of the drop and as you CIRCLE him with 20 warriors they eventually get too far from coherency or something like that? I don't think the VoD has that rule, but could be wrong.
However the MONOLITH portal does have a MAXIMUM as they must all be within like 2" of the door for coherency rules on disemarking. I believe someone told me (math wise) the maximum would be 17 portalled through a monolith.
The opponent might be confusing the 2?
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
VoD is just a normal deep strike, you just keep making circles until all the models are down, their is no limit on the number of models
With the monolith they have to be withing 2" of the door, so your only going to be able to fit about 18 following the 2" door rule
Strictly speaking if you have your Monolith on its flying base you should be able to fit a full squad of 20+ within 2 inches as some models can fit under the portal.
A lot of monolith models don't have flying bases though. I know mine doesn't. Though wouldn't the fact it's up in the air slightly reduce the overall range of 2 inches, thus negating a lot of the benefit of having it on a flying base?
Range generally isn't measured diagonally so it should be fine.
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
at least you measure the particle whip from the corner turrets