Welcome to Librarium Online!
In the are list section, one of the list uses a Ghaz and snikrot in the same unit to bring Ghaz on to the table using snikrots ambush ability. Now i have checked the rules and the codex and it seems to be legal, what you think?
(were are my Super-Runts)
yes you can Ghazghull counts as an HQ
and BOSS Snikrot counts as A units UPGRADED CHAMPION-a named OrK Nob-(he is paid for in the unit and does not take up an HQ
so you CAN actually still have a second HQ in the list
AND Boss Zagstruk AND Boss Badrukk
ALL IN THE SAME LIST
they are not HQ but a named Ork Nob for thier repested units
(i had forgot this important fact when responding to previous topic and have only remember now from your question)
I figure the thing to do here is to bring about the relevant rules. Namely, Independent Characters, Reserves, & the Ambush rule.
Ambush: Can choose to put Snikrot & his unit in reserve. When they become available, they come off of any board edge, not just your own.
Reserves: Before the game declare what units are held in reserve. If you wish to assign an independent character to a unit in reserve you must do so before the game starts. Roll once for both the IC & the unit and they come on together. If you want the IC to be separate it is a separate roll.
Independent Character: If it's within 2" of a unit at the end of the movement phase it must be part of that unit. If at the end of the movement phase it is out of 2" from any unit it is separate and may shoot/assault as its own unit.
So...Snikrot & kommandos may be attached to an IC, be it a warboss, weirdboy, or Ghazghkull himself before the game starts. They come on the board together, after which you are free to move the IC independently and charge something else entirely different so long as you end the movement phase >2" apart from the kommandos.
The above was paraphrased a bit, but you'll find it matches the gist of the rules in question.
yes so you can
assign 2 warboss to snikrots unit
then after they arrive
during the movement phase each of the 2 warboss' can seperate from they unit
giving you 2 warboss and the unit of Kommandos seperately to run about the enemy lines
i think it would cause some chaos, Ghazgull, and another MA warboss...crazyness but definatly Orky
I'm pretty sure you can't give special rules to other characters unless it says you can.
IE: Dok's tools give everyone in the unit FNP as long as the character with them is alive.
No where does it state that snikrot gives everyone infiltrate...
But it does say under snikrot that everyone in his unit may use ambush.
I really have no idea.
This is actually a large point of contention right now, both in the hobby stores I play at and with several people on the forums. In fact, the above scenario (Ghaz + Snikkrot) caused a very loud argument at the Ard Boyz tournament I went to (not my game though).
The question is: when Snikkrot or a Painboy gives their special ability (ambush/FNP) to the unit they're a part of, does that include any attached independent characters?
As of right now, as far as I know, there is no official answer.
The errata doesn't cover it, and the codex doesn't specifically say whether you can or can't. Therefore, in friendly games you'll just have to talk it out, or roll off, and in tournaments you're going to have to defer to the judge's ruling. Just don't do what the guy did at the tourney I went to, and argue about it for 15 minutes. There is no official answer, so it's simply the judge's call.
In my opinion, I don't think Snikkrot's ability was meant to confer to attached characters, and the same goes for painboyz, but that's just my opinion.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
Discussion's closed as far as I'm concerned. I rescind my previous argument based on this evidence:
It turns out we have been looking at the wrong part of the rulebook. Given just the information I provided above it would have been a reasonable argument to allow an IC to join Snikrot, but I still doubted that it was the intent of the game designers to allow this.
Sooooo, I just read through every single relevant section of the rulebook and stumbled across this gem.
Page 48, Special Rules:
"Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the 'stubborn' special rule), the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the character, and the character's special rules are not conferred upon the unit".
This also solves a question I have been wondering for awhile: whether or not an attached IC gains FNP when a painboy is present, or gains +1 WS when a WAAAGH banner is present. Using this ruling no upgrade option to a nob squad ever applies to an attached IC. Good to know.