Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys, I would like to say that I am not a cron' player, I am hoping that you can provide a solid solution for a 'rules dilema' that occured last game I played vs. my mate who was using crons againt my guard:
Basically I launched my Deathstrike Missile at his army, it landed square between 2 units, and the blast radius affected every model in each unit.
His units were 2 units of Warriors, one unit has a Lors with a Res Orb.
I rolled my wounds, and I killed all but 3 Warriors in one unit, and then all but 5 Warriors in the other unit (I tihnk each unit had like 14 in to atart with), the Lord was also 'killed'.
Now I understand that you can't make a WBB roll from an instant death caused 'death' (the Missile's s10 ap1, ignores cover, Instant killing both Warrior and Lord alike).
Now the Lord gets to use his Res. Orb as it says in the rules he can use him itself...
BUT here is the problem- do the Warriors that are within 6" of him able to make a WBB roll?
I would have thought NOT as the Warriors+Lord would have all taken a simolutaneous instant death hit with no saves...
I have seen a thread were a Lord with a res orb + his unit getting 'sweeping advance cut-down' all die with no WBB- besides the Lord, as they died at the same time as the Lord?
Maybe the same logic applies here???
My interpretation is that the lord would get to use the orb and it would give a wbb roll to any necron within the other requirements. It does not state in the wording that he would need to come back first before affecting the other necorns. It is implied (including the lord) that all would have a wbb at the same time. Once the lord has failed its wbb then it is no longer on the board and the orb cannot be used again.
That's what I would go for with my friend who has Necron's anyway.
"The nature of Mon Keigh was irrepressible!"
IF you read the FAQ, you would know that you check for the Res Orb at time of death, and not when you check for WBB at the start of the necron turn. And as usual the Lord needs to be alive to have the Rez Orb work
does that help?
What's complicating things is the lord being killed. Look at it this way: If the Lord hadn't been killed, the dead warriors would get WBB, right? The codex/FAQ also makes it clear that if the lord (and nothing else) were killed, he'd still get WBB. Given these facts, it's not unreasonable to think that both warriors and lord get WBB, especially since they all were killed at the same time, by the same shot.
This is one of the confusing parts of the codex, and while there are good arguments on both sides, you probably won't get an answer that everyone agrees on, so work it out with your opponent at the time, or dice off (feel free to use the arguments presented here to work it out with your opponent though)
The way I'd solve this is by slicing the turn into stages so thin it's almost like computer code.
The Official FAQ says this:In my mind "damaged" is different from suffering an unsaved wound. I think damaged is the state of being on the ground, no longer alive, awaiting WBB. So basically they die THEN you check. So it works by checking to see if the new corpse is in range of an Orb, and since they all became a corpse at this stage, and the Lord is dead (if we agree a dead Lord gives no Orb) then nobody except the Lord should get a WBB since there is no alive Lord in range at the time of checking (after they died).Check range [for the orb] when a Necron becomes damaged.
I'd say that since they all died at once, the Nerons were receiving Res Orb enrergy (or whatever it's supposed to be) when they fall, as mentioned this is all from the same hit, in the same shooting phase. In such an instance it would reason to believe that all the Necrons in range of the res orb for the entire shooting phase would be covered, as shooting phases don't necessarily occur chronologically in that order, the actions in 40K, though organized are just a representation of the movements of battle not necessarily the exact way it is happening. And who's to say the radiation from the res orb doesn't linger? Anyway, I've always viewed "damaged" as "when the Necron gets knocked down" so in this instance they all get knocked down at the exact same time, therefore receive res-orb coverage.
I've always played it at time of death. Since the lord and the warriors died at the same time, they were still under the effects of the orb when they died. Therefore they'll get the WBB.
Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)