Welcome to Librarium Online!
just a quick query to see what people think: been reading some threads where people have discussed that a tyrant with guard will get cover saves behind a screen of gaunts.
now my understanding of the rules state that when shooting a monstrous creature through another unit at least half the monstrous creature must be obscured by LOs in order to get the 4+ cover save, so i don't see how this would work
but because the guard aren't monstrous creatures do these people mean they get the saves because when you figure out wound allocation the wounds they'd suffer could be negated by the cover save?
Unfortunately I don't have my rule book here, so I can only assume ...
Can't the guards take the hits instead of the tyrant and because they are not monstrous creatures they get a cover save?
Thread hijack: There is no way to get cover save for Carnifex with other units?
1. The Tyrant becomes an upgrade character for the unit (see Tyrant Guard unit entry) ad thus cannot be individually targetted
2. The player chooses to shoot the unit.
3. Since the Tyrant Guard are not MCs, if two of them get cover, that is 50% of the unit, thus granting cover saves to everybody.
4. Huzzah!Most likely, no. BUT, if you really need one fex to survive, you can place another fex in front of it. This will definitely obscure more than 50% of the first fex.Originally Posted by daisho
Put the Carnifex behind other carnifexes, monstrous creatures, or vehicles. Zoans and warriors may also give them cover saves as they are big/tall models. Remember that in 5th, it's True LOS.Thread hijack: There is no way to get cover save for Carnifex with other units?
but that's something that could be taken advantage of, placing all AP3(or 2) or less on the tyrant guard, and able to take advantage of cover saves, whereas the tyrant can use its regular saveto defend against the weaker AP, so long as there isn't more low AP shots on the unit than there is models to distribute them over..
.....if that makes sense....
While you are correct about wound allocation, cover saves are handled slightly differently. When it comes to cover saves, you get a save if more than squad is obscured. In this case it is so the ENTIRE squad gets a cover save.
edit: Now I'm started to doubt myself...
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Correct on saves. If a unit is half or more in cover, the entire unit gets a cover save. If an individual model (tank, MC, etc...) is more than half covered from the point of view of the shooter, the model gets a cover save.
fair enough, and i guess that applies when you have to shoot at a unit through another unit.... which is something i encountered when my friend fired bright lances at my flyrant through my godfex - i positioned the flyrant to try and get some sort of cover save, but he declared that it'd get hit seeing half of it was exposed
i'm thinking that because he was firing past my carnie, the flyrant should get a cover save... except that the MC rules specifically state the models needs to be at least half-obscured.
oh well, lost my awesomely converted flyrant without it even touching anyone. still won the game barely
A unit also provides cover to units behind it, assuming the front unit covers at-least 50% of the rear unit and is at least half the height of the rear unit. So if your friend shot through your fex to the tyrant right behind the fex, the tyrant should have received a cover save. However if he could draw line-of-fire to the tyrant without going through the fex, you get no cover save.
Same applies to gaunts, warriors, etc... You can give those expensive warriors a cover save just by having a unit of gaunts marching along in front of them.
Using your friends words, you should have gotten a cover save. "but he declared that it'd get hit seeing half of it was exposed" should really be "it would get a cover save seeing as half of it was exposed".