Monolith LoS question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Monolith LoS question

    Immortals,

    Can you shoot under a Monolith because it acts like a skimmer? At one point, most of the time Tau did this, you could shoot under a skimmer. IN the rule book it talks about a skimmer not landing but on the same page not staying up in the air. As you can imagine it would be of great help tactically to know if you could have a armor 14 floating pyramid to keep enemies off you while not stopping you from flaying the weak flesh of you foes.

    As always best of luck in your conquest of the living and any/all feed back would be welcomed!

    Ravadge


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    True line of sight means that if you can draw LOS from model A to model B, you have LOS. If the Monolith is in the way, then nope, you can't see through it.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    That is true but if the monolith is on a flying base you can see under it or is LoS from the figs head only not the whole model?

  5. #4
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravadge View Post
    That is true but if the monolith is on a flying base you can see under it or is LoS from the figs head only not the whole model?
    I'm not certain entirely, but I would play it that if your models can see under it, the enemy's models can see under it, so there's still no real benefit.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Ya, it Is tricky. The enemy seeing me isn't really a problem, the problem is getting assaulted, losing and having an I of one.

    Thanks Lost Nemesis

  7. #6
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravadge View Post
    Ya, it Is tricky. The enemy seeing me isn't really a problem, the problem is getting assaulted, losing and having an I of one.

    Thanks Lost Nemesis
    As long as your models can physically see under the Monolith (i.e., you would need to use a flying base rather than simply setting it on the table) then you should be good to use this, which is essentially a "Fish of Fury" type of strategy from the Tau. Not a bad idea, just remember that your models have to actually be able to see under the Monolith for them to shoot at someone on the other side.

  8. #7
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Do monoliths come with a flying base? If not, adding one yourself would be a bit cheeky. If they come with one though, knock yourself out
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  9. #8
    Senior Member visseking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x2)

    It's got a flying base in the codex.

  10. #9
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Cool, I've just never had any opponents field them on one - I guess it must be a bit top heavy?
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  11. #10
    My backpack has JETS! Ravendove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,983
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    545 (x8)

    The Monolith does not come with a flying base in the box. At least mine didn't. In this case, because the game now uses true LOS, anything blocking view ... well, blocks view.

    If you have mounted your Monolith in a flying base yourself, then your models can fire underneath it if they can see underneath it. As long as 50% of the target model(s) can be seen, you can fire - but the target would get a cover save if they are obscured.

    In the 2nd scenario, the opponent would very likely not be able to counter-assault you from under the Monolith, simply because the models would not fit. There isn't enough room, so they would have to run around the Monolith.

    This is, effectively, the "Fish of Fury" Tau tactic. If your Monolith has a flying base, then Necrons can perform it very well indeed as they can repeatedly teleport through the Portal (which, if you're smart, is always angled away from the enemy).

    Good hunting!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts