Markerlight question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Simple Green. Emp.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    Markerlight question

    I don't play Tau, but this disagreement came up going against them previously, so I'm not sure whether this would be under the Tau section, or the Rules section. Anyways...

    I understand what markerlights do. My Fast skimmer moves over 12", it gains a 4+ cover save because of this. If he tags me with 3 markerlight counters, can all 3 be used to to give me a cumulative -3 cover save, thus negating my cover save entirely?

    Thanks in advance.

    5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Yes, I believe so. It is -1 to your cover save for each markerlight token used, and I'm not sure that there's a maximum (such as 'up to a 6+ cover save') etc.

  4. #3
    The deep down truth Rikimaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    York
    Age
    51
    Posts
    5,714
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    724 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis View Post
    Yes, I believe so. It is -1 to your cover save for each markerlight token used, and I'm not sure that there's a maximum (such as 'up to a 6+ cover save') etc.
    Yep, markerlights have the ability to reduce cover saves by -1 for each ML token. The reduction of cover saves is cumulative so given enough ML hits a cover save can indeed by fully negated. This is true against any cover save or ability / rule that confers a cover save.
    1984

  5. #4
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    It is one of the best features of markerlights in 5th ed.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

  6. #5
    Simple Green. Emp.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    alright, thanks for the clarifications all.
    5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    27
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    everyone who replied is correct. it is in the faq on gw's site.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts