Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So while play testing some lists today I noticed something, and I have two questions. Do you have to notify to your opponent which models has the webway portal or is it like a daemon host model where you only have to write it down beforehand? Also, since the talos is now an MC it behaves like one, but when it enters from the webway portal is it allowed to move over enemy units like a skimmer because the faq never removed the skimmer rule did it? Like if your webway portal is surrounded by enemies can a talos still come out of it and move over them or is it trapped?
You have to tell your opponent before the game which units are arriving via the WWP. This is covered in the FAQ, and is similar to the rule in the BRB that makes you say which units are deep striking or outflanking.
The Talos still has the skimmer special rule, so it may float over other models and terrain. Remember when entering it from the portal that the Talos is a large model and must be placed at least 1" away from an enemy.
From the 5th Edition DE FAQ:Monsterous Creatures do not float over other models or terrain.Q: Is the Talos a monsterous creature or a skimmer?
A: The Talos is classified as a Monsterous Creature and as such uses all the rules for Monsterous Creatures rather than skimmers.
Thanks for the help with the talos. What I was trying to find out about the WWP was if you have to tell your opponent which model that starts on the table is carrying the WWP. Because I really like using it, just that my enemies always shoot the crap out of the model carrying it and I don't get to deploy it and get boned. So can I keep the WWP carrying model a secret? Like If I write it down in my list, just don't tell my opponent so he doesn't know where to direct his fire?
The Talos does not count as a skimmer because it is not a vehicle. That is what the FAQ is referring to. The FAQ in no way removes or changes the Talos' "skimmer" special rule (which is not the same thing).
YES, the Talos does indeed float.
You have correctly assessed one of the reasons why the WWP is no longer used in 5th:
1. True line of sight means you can't hide raiders or large foot units
2. New IC rules makes them even more vulnerable - most likely to fail morale and run.
3. The game is a lot faster now, any army can reach your line by 2nd turn (if not the 1st) thanks to outflanking, infiltrating, scouts, teleporters, summoning and drop-podding. This means that holding onto the portal until the 2nd turn is extremely risky and I find little value in dropping the portal on the 1st turn - you might as well use reserves instead.
The only situation the wwp has a chance is if you have first move and if you are playing dawn of war.
Just my thoughts, you can probably find a situation where the wwp works but the cost plus the benefit versus the risk makes it too unpredictable for my tastes.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
This is poor wording yet again in the FAQ.
And it was 'Unit Type Monstrous Creature' back in 4th Ed and we all had no problems with it simply floating as a Skimmer back then and the FAQ are not rules changes anyway but simply clarifactions on existing ones.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.