Tournament FAQ - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tournament FAQ

  1. #1
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Tournament FAQ

    I found this FAQ that has been published and used for one of the tournament scenes (Adepticon, I believe). It seems quite comprehensive, and while not officially ratified by GW it might be useful to players: FAQ.

    I'll post the ork stuff here...

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: ORK SPECIAL RULES (page 31)
    ORK.31A.01 – Q: Can a player wait until the end of
    the shooting phase to call the Waaagh?


    A: Yes, but any units that make a ‘run’ move before the
    Waaagh! is called do not gain the fleet ability in the
    subsequent Assault phase [clarification].

    +ORK.31B.01 – Q: Does the Ld value of an Ork in a
    mob benefit from the ‘Mob Rule’ when they are
    targeted individually such as with Eldar Mind War?


    A: Yes, individual Orks within a mob may always benefit from
    the Mob Rule up to a maximum Ld value of 10 (no matter
    how many Orks beyond ten the mob actually has)
    [clarification].

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: MEKBOYZ (pages 34-35)
    ORK.35.01 – Q: If a Shokk Attack Gun suffers a
    “Oops”, “Gah”, “Sploosh”, “Bzaap” or “Raargh” result
    does the player still have to roll ‘to hit’ with the
    Scatter dice?


    A: Yes [RAW].

    ORK.35.02 – Q: If a vehicle is hit by a “Raargh” Shokk
    Attack result, is the vehicle removed from the table
    regardless of the damage caused by the penetrating
    hit?


    A: No, the vehicle only suffers an automatic penetrating hit
    [clarification].

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: WEIRDBOYZ (pages 36-37)
    ORK.37B.01 – Q: If a Wierdboy embarked on a
    vehicle that is moving at cruising speed (or faster)
    rolls either ‘Frazzle’ or ‘Zzap’, what happens?


    A: As the Wierdboy is unable to shoot in such a situation,
    nothing happens [RAW].

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: PAINBOYZ (page 3
    ORK.38A.01 – Q: If an Independent Character joins a
    mob with a Painboy, does he gain the ‘Feel No Pain’
    universal special rule?


    A: Yes, as Dok’s Tools are a piece of Wargear that specifies
    which models gain the special rule [clarification].
    Ref: RB.48B.02, ORK.59A.01, SM.55A.01

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: TRUKKS (page 41)
    ORK.41C.01 – Q: If a Trukk suffers a ‘Kaboom!’ result
    does the model become a wreck?


    A: No, it is removed and replaced with an area of difficult
    ground [rules change].
    Ref: RB.61K.02 Page 56

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: TANKBUSTAS (page 42)
    ORK.42E.01 – Q: Can vehicles take cover saves
    against Bomb Squig attacks?

    A: Bomb Squigs are not a shooting attack per se, so in
    general no. However, vehicles that are ‘obscured’ (such as a
    skimmer that moved ‘flat out’) or that always get a cover
    save for some reason would still be able to use it against a
    Bomb Squig [clarification].

    ORK.42E.02 – Q: If Tankbustas embarked on a vehicle
    roll a ‘1’ when releasing their Bomb Squig, what
    happens?


    A: Resolve the attack against their vehicle’s rear armor value
    [clarification].

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: Deffkoptas (page 4
    ORK.48F.01 – Q: When is a Bigbomm attack resolved?

    A: Bigbomm attacks are resolved immediately after the
    player finishes moving the Deffkopta unit [clarification].

    ORK.48F.02 – Q: Is the scatter for a Bigbomm
    reduced by the firer’s Ballistic Skill? Can cover saves
    be taken against them? Are they affected by Night
    Fighting?


    A: The scatter is not reduced by the firer’s BS. Cover and
    vehicle armor facings are determined like a barrage weapon
    (from the center hole of the blast). A Bigbomm is not a
    shooting attack per se, so is not affected by Night Fighting,
    Veil of Tears, etc, and does not affect the Deffkopta’s choice
    of target in the subsequent shooting and/or assault phase
    [clarification].
    Ref: ELD.35B.02, ELD.49B.03

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: BATTLEWAGONS (page 55)
    ORK.55D.01 – Q: Does a Deff Rolla affect enemy
    vehicles that are rammed?


    A: A Deff Rolla only affects enemy non-vehicle units that are
    ‘Tank Shocked’ [clarification].

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: MAD DOK GROTSNIK (page 59)
    ORK.59A.01 – Q: Does Grotsnik himself benefit from
    his own ‘Dok’s Tools’, both when on his own and
    when joined to a unit?


    A: Grotsnik benefits from his own Dok’s Tools, both when on
    his own and when joined to a unit [clarification].
    Ref: ORK.38A.01, RB.48B.02, SM.55A.01

    ORK.59C.01 – Q: If Grotsnik appears to be out of
    Assault range in the shooting phase is he forced to
    ‘run’ towards the nearest enemy or can he choose to
    shoot a weapon instead?


    A: Grotsnik (and any unit he is with) must run in the
    shooting phase unless he is already within assault range of
    the enemy (the Ork player is allowed to check assault range)
    [clarification].
    Ref: DE.09B.01, IG.41B.01, IG.53C.01, SW.10B.01, SW.28B.01,
    WH.27B.01
    Page 57

    ORKS CODEX QUERIES (ORK)
    FORCES OF THE ORKS: OLD ZOGWORT (page 61)
    ORK.61A.01 – Q: If Zogwort rolls for power weapon
    attacks while in close combat, do they combine with
    his poisoned attacks (so that he wounds on a ‘2+’ and
    ignores armor saves)?


    A: Zogwort’s ‘Pit of Vipers’ is not a weapon and may
    therefore be combined with the power weapon ability [RAW].

    ORK.61D.01 – Q: Does Zogwort have to pass a
    psychic test to use his curse? Is the Curse a psychic
    shooting attack?


    A: A psychic test must be passed to use the Curse and it is
    not a psychic shooting attack [clarification].

    ORK.61D.02 – Q: Can the Curse be used if Zogwort
    and/or his target are locked in combat?


    A: No [clarification].

    ORK.61D.03 – Q: Does a character turned into a Squig
    give up a Kill Point or Victory Points at the end of the
    game or must the Squig model be killed first?


    A: As the Squig replaces the character, it must be killed for a
    Kill Point or Victory Points to be awarded for the character
    [clarification].Ref: TAU.26G.01

    ORK.61D.04 – Q: If an Independent Character is
    joined to a unit when turned into a Squig, does the
    Squig remain joined to the unit?


    A: Yes [clarification].

    ORK.61D.05 – Q: If the Ork player does not have a
    Squig model can Zogwort still use the curse?


    A: No, Zogwort may only use his curse if the Ork player has
    a squig model available [RAW].

    ORK.61D.06 – Q: If an Independent Character that is
    also a ‘Troops’ choice (such as an Officer from an
    Imperial Guard Platoon) gets turned into a Squig can
    he still capture an objective? Can a Squig ever
    contest an objective being captured by the enemy?


    A: Yes and yes [clarification].

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: BOSS SNIKROT (page 62)
    ORK.62C.01 – Q: Can an Independent Character (such
    as a Warboss on a bike) join Snikrot’s unit before the
    game and arrive with them via ‘Ambush’?


    A: No, as Snikrot’s ability is a special rule that does not
    specify it affects other ICs joined to his unit, it does not
    [clarification].
    Ref: RB.95A.01, SM.92.01

    FORCES OF THE ORKS: BOSS ZAGSTRUK (page 63)
    ORK.63C.01 – Zagstruk does not have the ‘Waaagh!’
    special rule [typo].

    ORK.63C.01 – Q: Can Zagstruk and the Vulchas run
    the turn they arrive via Deep Strike?


    A: Yes [clarification].

    ORK.63C.02 – Q: If D3 Vulchas are killed while
    landing do these casualties count towards combat
    resolution?

    A: Yes [clarification].

    ORK WARGEAR: OTHER EQUIPMENT (page 92)
    ORK.92A.01 – Q: If an Ammo Runts are taken by a
    mob, as opposed to a character (as with Flash Gitz),
    which models can use the re-roll?


    A: In this case, any model in the unit may use the Ammo
    Runt’s re-roll [clarification].
    Page 58

    ORKS CODEX QUERIES (ORK)
    ORK WARGEAR: ORK VEHICLE UPGRADES (page 93)
    ORK.93C.01 – Q: If a Boarding Plank is used to attack
    a Walker does the Walker get to strike back?


    A: No [RAW].

    ORK.93H.01 – Q: Is a Trukk with a Reinforced Ram
    allowed to ram other vehicles?


    A: No it can only perform a standard Tank Shock against
    non-vehicle units [clarification].

    ORK.93I.01 – Q: If a vehicle with a Stikkbomb
    Chukka is destroyed (via a ‘Death or Glory’ attack, for
    example) and its embarked passengers charge into
    combat the ensuing Assault phase do they still
    benefit from the Chukka?


    A: Yes [RAW].
    Ref: BT.42B.03, BA.06N.01, DH.32B.03, DA.35A.01, SM.75B.01,
    SM.82C.01

    ORK.93J.01 – Q: If the Wreckin’ Ball hits an enemy
    vehicle, what armor facing is used? Can it be used in
    an opponent’s assault phase?


    A: Resolve it as a (very) short-ranged shooting attack
    originating from wherever the Wreckin’ Ball is on the Trukk
    model. It may only be used in the Ork player’s Assault phase
    [clarification].

    ORK ARMY LIST: HQ (pages 96-97)

    ORK.96C.01 – Wazzdaka has a Dakkacannon [typo].

    ORK ARMY LIST: ELITES (page 99)

    ORK.99C.01 – Q: Does taking Snikrot replace one of
    the Kommandos in the mob?


    A: No, Snikrot is taken in addition to the Kommandos in the
    mob (although a Nob may not be included in the same mob)
    [RAW].

    ORK ARMY LIST: TROOPS (page 100)
    ORK.100B.01 – Q: If a Gretchin unit has 29 Grots in it,
    is the unit required to have two or three Runtherds?


    A: One Runtherd per full 10 Gretchin, so 29 Grots require
    only two Runtherds [RAW].

    ORK ARMY LIST: FAST ATTACK (page 101)

    ORK.101A.01 – Q: Does taking Zagstruk replace one
    of the Stormboyz in the mob?


    A: No, Zagstruk is taken in addition to the Stormboyz in the
    mob (although a Nob may not also be included in the same
    mob) [RAW].
    Page 59
    59
    ORKS CODEX QUERIES (ORK)
    ORK ARMY LIST: HEAVY SUPPORT (pages 102-103)

    ORK.102A.01 – Q: Besides the Killakannon, how are
    the other weapons mounted on a Battlewagon?


    A: Players are free to mount the other weapons on a
    scratch-built Battlewagon however they see fit (i.e. in a
    turret, sponson, fixed or otherwise), as long as this is
    absolutely clear by looking at the model [clarification].

    ORK.103A.01 – Q: Does taking Badrukk replace one
    of the Flash Gitz in the mob?


    A: No, Badrukk is taken in addition to the Flash Gitz in the
    mob [RAW].

    ORK.103C.01 – The Looted Wagon should refer back to
    page 54 [typo]


    Kuffy


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Works for me

    It's hardly 'official', but all of their calls seem right to me. There's nothing unreasonable about any of them. I'd say, this is the FAQ to go with until we have an official GW update on these issues.
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  4. #3
    Member skelesaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    just curious, but do the wierdboy psychic powers "frazzle" and "zzap" count as a heavy or assualt weapon since in the ork codex, it just says that the wiedboy counts as shooting?

  5. #4
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Well...

    It's effectively 'assault' shooting, so you can move and still fire. In the case of using the power inside vehicles, since you can't fire while inside a vehicle moving flat out, nothing happens when the power goes off. I assume you still have to roll to see if a perils of the warp result occurs, but since you can't fire in that instance, you don't get the benefit.

    I assumed, fluff-wise, that the power IS going off, but because the vehicle is moving so quickly, they can't aim it well enough to be effective.
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  6. #5
    Member skelesaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    thanx. its nice to know this stuff before investing valuable points on a wierdboy

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    52 (x1)

    i thought i had read somewhere that they wierdboyz autohit with some attacks

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts