Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alright, so I have still yet to play a game with 5th edition Eldar, and I'm an old player from 2nd so I've been trying to catch up on the rules. So I have been poking around here and on a couple other online forums and discovered the contentious arguments regarding the farseer fortune power when it comes to independent characters leaving a squad. One of the arguments basically maintains that since the unit when fortune was case included a squad and an IC, when the IC leaves the unit no longer exits and all of them lose fortune. This felt like rules lawyering to me, as I think each individual model would each maintain fortune since it was logical everyone in the unit was being affected regardless of who left or joined.
This made me start thinking about what other instances that seem illogical to me, but that this same bit of rules lawyering would allow. I stumbled upon bladestorm with the added dimension of Asurmen. I take one DA squad with exarch and bladestorm as well as Asurmen. Asurmen and the DAs are together in one unit. They bladestorm using Asurmens instance of bladestorm. Next turn, Asurmen leaves the squad by breaking coherency. Using the same rules as applied to fortune (according to some) would this allow the squad to then bladestorm using the exarch's power. The original power was used by Asurmen and since that unit no longer exists, the penalty for not being able to shoot would no longer apply. This feels like absurdity to me, but what do you folks think?
Mhmm... I haven't read Asurman's Bladestorm power so I'm not sure how it's worded, but fluff-wise... They'll still need to reload after that first Bladestorm so it would be a no if fluff mattered. But gaming wise, I guess I would like a little bonus for bringing in such a high profile model.... And 2 Bladestorms would certaintly do that lol.
The Fortune debate has been argued in many ways, but the most sensible version I've heard is that when you cast fortune when there's an IC in the squad, you pick either the IC or the unit it's joined to, Fortune is then spread to whatever wasn't picked as the target because they are part of the same unit. If the IC leaves the unit and the IC had Fortune "cast" on them, then they keep Fortune and the unit loses it. If the IC leaves the unit and the squad had Fortune "cast" on them, then the squad keeps Fortune and the IC loses it.
Farseer casts Fortune on itself --> Farseer gains Fortune --> Farseer is part of a Dire Avengers squad --> Dire Avengers squad gains Fortune -->Farseer moves out of unit coherency -->Dire Avengers loses Fortune and Farseer retains Fortune
Farseer casts Fortune on Dire Avengers --> Dire Avengers gain Fortune --> Farseer is joined to the Dire Avengers --> Farseer gains Fortune --> Farseer moves out of unit coherency --> Farseer loses Fortune and Dire Avengers retain Fortune
As far as the Bladestorm debate goes, that's just blatant easter egg hunting. Did they fire last turn using the Bladestorm special ability? If the answer is yes, then they may not fire next turn, whether they have Bladestorm or not next turn, makes no difference on the matter. The Phoenix Lord's page even says that multiples of the same power are not cumulative, so they in essence only have "one" Bladestorm to use, and can't selectively pretend losing the ability next turn makes even the slightest differnce as to who gave them the power.
Another example, a squad Bladestorms, on the opponents turn the Exarch is killed in shooting. Does this mean they can shoot again because they lost the Bladestorm ability with the Exarch? Absolutely not, seeing their leader die isn't going to make them reload any faster, they're not Neo after all...
Scratchbuilding Fire Prism Crystals
2K Mech Eldar in 2010: 25Win/4Lose/8Draw
I'm pretty sure that it also states in the codex that Phoenix Lord powers specifically don't stack with Exarch powers, but I don't have it in front of me.