Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Another rules query from our ongoing tournament - when a wraithlord is deployed on the first turn of a dawn of war mission (starting off the table) how does wraithsight apply?
The deployment takes place in the movement phase while the test is taken before this at the start of the turn - can the wraithlord claim to be close to any off-table units to ignore wraithsight?, and what happens if it fails the test and can't move onto the board - is it now stuck in reserve? deployed immobile on the edge (which would require it to actually walk on - when it technically can't)? etc.
I would say he doesn't need to test. If the rules say the test is at the START of the turn then seeing as the wraithlord is not on the table it shouldn't have to test.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
I agree with ArtificiallyEnhanced. There should be no rolls for Wraithsight while Wraithguard or Wraithlords are off the table. I don't think I can cite any rules on the matter though, nor any rulings. I think this applies to most armies etc, with abilities on units off the table, without any specific mention of this they cannot to my knowledge use abilities while undeployed.
if they're coming from off the table aren't they technically moving from reserve?
do wraithlords have to check to come in from reserves?
They are, but AFAIK they don't roll for wraithsight even when coming in from reserves...
- Just love that maki! -
As already mentioned, you check for Wraithsight at the beginning of the turn, and come in from reserves in the movement phase, so you won't have to check. This is similar to, for example, the ruling on CSM psykers not being able to use some of their powers the turn they arrive from reserves (see the CSM FAQ/errata to see what I mean).
Necron Army Building Maxima: Beware of Phase Out
If your opponent tells you you have to test, tell him you then also get to cast doom/fortune/guide when coming out of reserves as well.