Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question about a model armed with an agonizer and wych weapon. I use a Dracite and my wych succubus is also armed like this.
A person at my local gaming club thinks that i have to declare the use of either weapon in that combat phase, my argument is that the wych weapon is an upgrade and isn't treated as a separate weapon for close combat.
He also believes that if i were to select the agonizer, in theory i wouldn't be counted as armed with wych weapons, this made me laugh because he's the sort of person you can't explain anything to so i just walked off, he then tried to explain that wych would sheath one of his weapons, even though they're one handed in order to fight more effectively with the weapon they wield, that was a good night
Would i be wrong in thinking this? could someone clear this up for me?
All the units in the wych squad count as having wych weapons if just one or a few actually have wych weapons, this includes the succubus who is just an upgraded wych.
Succubus doesn't even need wych weapons, but still has the wych weapons rule. I also have a succubus with agoniser and wych weapon.
I'm not too sure about the lord, it doesn't really say he's equiped with wych weapons from what I remember, only Lelith does clearly have those in her wargear description.
I'm not too sure if the wych weapons rule is transfered from the squad he joins or his retinue.
DE codex p6. Wytch lord entry.
Otherwise: the wytches are not subject to the WYSIWYG, wytch entry in the codex
The agoniser is a ccw, the wytch weapons are (that displayed on the model) a pair of ccw`s, so one is a wytch weapon, the other one is an agoniser, or it makes more sense:
the wytch weapon is a ccw that speciality is of its use in battle: shardnet, impaler, it is not a "magical" weapon. But it can be upgraded to agoniser as it is a close combat weapon.
Print out this picture and tell him:
Dark Eldar Wych Fighting Squad | Games Workshop
the net, the chain with the hook, the big trident, they are the wytch weapons, they make your models move slow... and the sword, the knife are the agonisers, they will kill them
I never had problem about this in the GW store where I used to play DE
A wych weapon is an upgrade that is named as a weapon. It isn't a weapon and doesn't count as such. Infact if you have a blaster and wych weapons you only have 1 weapon and can't claim a bonus for being dual equipped.
Your "friend" is right in that you can only use one weapon a phase when attacking. This however doesn't matter as wych weapons aren't weapons.
Also if he still can't take it point out that you can only use one weapon to attack with but it doesn't mention anyhting about defense. This same reasoning can be applied to the new SM book where a character can have a 2 handed relic blade but still use a storm shield.
Finally he is trying to combine RAI and RAW something that really doesn't work.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Ok, we have to define what a ‘weapon’ is and to a lesser extent what ‘wargear’ is firstly.
For ‘weapons’ we turn to page 27 in the BRB and refer to the entry ‘Type.’
‘All weapons are classified as either Rapid Fire……………etc’
Or page 42 Close Combat Weapons, these are grouped into two classes – Normal and Special.
Here we could fully believe that Wych Weapons fit in but in their own rules they have the effect of not arming the model with an additional close combat weapon – this is in addition to the standard weaponry of a Splinter Pistol and close combat weapon.
Now, are Wych Weapons classified as ‘weapons’ as per the rules or is their description purely fluff and background story?
If we follow the above you can see that they are not by the rules in the second edition of the codex, weapons at all.
So what are they?
They are simply a special rule that more closely equates to mandatory wargear.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.