Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
having only got half a dozen games under my belt for nids, i'm starting to find it tricky figuring out when to dish out cover saves and when not to. the unit entry for MCs say that at least half the model must be obscured before you can consider benefitting from a cover save so normally fex's and tyrants won't get saves from screening units. (unless tyranid warriors and zoanthropes do a good job of floating in front of them) or from hanging out in difficult terrain (didn't play that right in the last game i had)
but what about when an enemy unit fires through another unit from its own side? still have to get down to eye level and gauge 50% coverage?
and i guess there's no clarification about MCs gaining cover behind other MCs either? 50% again?
then someone else i see is utilising a trick with tyrant guard, seeing they aren't MC's and string out a tyrant with his guard on one flank, and behind a screen of gaunts - while the tyrant is out in the open, and able to fire through his own units (wouldn't he be able to anyway?), his guard claim a cover save, so long as they only take two wounds from a unit, these wounds can be allocated to the guard and therefor cover saves can be used... or somethign to that effect...
thoughts? criticism? schooling?
It's 50% in any and all situations. Covered by ruins, models, tanks, etc. Everything. If you can't come to a firm agreement on 50% you get the cover save but -1, so usually a 5+.
There's a lot of tricks to gain cover with models and things. As far as I know the trick you mentioned works. All Guard do is prevent the Tyrant from being picked out, they don't count as MCs or make him stop counting as one. They just remove a facet of the MC rule.
The Tyrant Guard will give the Tyrant a Cover save as he is not being picked out and 50% or more of the Unit is in cover. I have argued this point in friendly and competitive games. Many no Tyranid players forget the Shield-wall Rule. Make sure you are using it to your advantage and get cover saves from those guants. Don't settle for a 5+ save. (Of course remember to be friendly)
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
ok, so long as i stick to that 50% rule i'll be kosher - thanks guys
another thing popped into my head, but i'm ready to discard it as me imagining rules out of thin air; because a MC is pretty tall, could you potentially draw LOS to the vast majority of a unit OVER the top of other units between the too? therefore denying the cover save?
...yeah, i think i'm grasping at straws
Correct, no cover save from being behind gaunts. But you can get 50% cover behind warriors/thropes.
ahhh, that wasn't what i was asking; i'm turning the situation around, and this time clarifying what happens when an MC shoots an infantry unit through another unit - if you're able to draw TLOS to more than 50% of your target over the intervening unit, would they receive a cover save? or just use TLOS as a means to establish whether the target is, um well, targettable?
They'd get no save, they aren't blocking his sight. Being tall had advantages/drawbacks.
awesome, thanks everyone
Well, but be careful with the latter. He can be tall and all, but if only the head of one of the intervening models blocks sight to the left foot of a target model that suffices to get a cover save (as long as this or something equal was true for half or more of the target unit) as long as it is non-vehicle and non-MC. Remember that for those models only a tiny part of the body has to be obscured in order to claim cover...
So you will need a good lot of space between the intervening and the target unit, even with a creature as tall as a tyrant.