Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hokay, so, I'd suspect this question has been posed before, but I couldn't find any threads in the archives that specifically dealt with it, so I'm askin' away.
According to the Tau codex:
1) A weapon on a battlesuit "counts as one weapon system."
2) A twin-linked weapon on a battlesuit "counts as two weapon systems."
3) A multi-tracker "allows a battlesuit to fire two weapons systems in the same turn."
So the questions:
A) Does a battlesuit need a multi-tracker to fire a twin-linked weapon?
B ) If a battlesuit has a twin-linked weapon, a second single weapon, and a hard-wired multi-tracker, would it be able to fire both types of weapons (with one being twin-linked and thus rerolling?)
I've been playin' for years, but only just looked at the wording of the rules and thought... "Huh." I always played that suit had no need for a multi tracker if the weapon is twin-linked 'cause it's essentially one weapon. But now that I've looked at the wording, I'm starting to question myself.
Last edited by Kardea; October 20th, 2009 at 16:12. Reason: Had to eliminate accidental smileys.
You are absolutely correct. I emailed GW about this and so did a bunch of other people. As usual, GW decided to cover their ears and go "LALALALALA I CAN'T HEAR YOU LALALALALA!"
So we have to just wait patiently for a new codex. Our current codex is very badly written and there are lots of little problems like this, it is absolutely inexcusable. The thing I really hate is that these problems are so easy to fix. It would take HALF AN HOUR for them to man up and make some official rulings in an updated FAQ. Heck, I'd do it for FREE.
Check out my new blog! http://gamers-gone-wild.blogspot.com/
It is badly written but, I know one spot in the Tau codex that should clarify this. In the write up for the costs of weapons it does say that the second cost is for 2 weapons counting as a twin linked weapon of that type. (A twin linked weapon, singular)
Take the Broadside. It does come with the twin linked rail gun and SMS. Honestly has anyone ever questioned that the broadside could only fire a single railgun if it didnt have multi tracking?
At any rate. we all know it is just bad wording on the part of the rules write up. Anyone who would make this an argument in a game against me would soon find me packing up my army and me telling said person to go soak their head.
- Never underestimate the power of human stupidity.
so wait, I'm still confused as to how this works.
Because it is twin linked both weapons fire together at the same target? So if i use TL MP, assault 2, i get 4 attacks on one unit. BUT because A=2 for a battlesuit, technically i get a total of 8 attacks... ?
Also, does each weapon acquire a separate target? MT allows for two weapon slots to fire, it says nothing about targeting just one specific enemy with either weapons system. So couldnt you fire one MP at one unit and the other MP at a different, thus creating a total of 4 attacks on each individual enemy unit?
Last edited by Lani Guy; October 21st, 2009 at 18:51.
Last edited by Rikimaru; October 21st, 2009 at 16:10.
Yep, twin-linking just allows you to re-roll any misses. It doesn't gain you any extra shots. A single Missile Pod will fire twice. A twin-linked MP will also only fire twice, hence the "twin-linked weapons which occupy two hard points count as a single weapon when firing" bit.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Last edited by Lani Guy; October 21st, 2009 at 23:41.