Welcome to Librarium Online!
So, I've been trying to change things up a bit with my Ork Army lately, and while re-reading my codex I noticed that mob rule states that you can CHOOSE between the Ork unit's regular Ld or substitute it for the number of models in the unit. It then says that if the unit number 11 or more they have the fearless special rule.
With this in mind I looked at Zagstruk (or however that's spelled,) and noticed that if his unit fails its morale test he simply executes on of his stormboyz and they auto-pass (old skool commissar style.)
So, I came up with the idea that, with Zagstruk'z Vulcha Boyz, it'd probably be better to risk a leadership test and probably only kill off one boy rather than suffer fearless wounds in an assault.
So, enough of my ramblings, does this work? Is your a ork unit of 11+ boyz ALWAYS fearless or only if they substitute unit # for leadership?
Do you believe in the day? Do you? Believe in the day!
I am reading the codex right now, and I'd say both sentences are independent from each other.
You can choose to use your numbers as Ld.
Mobs of 11+ orks are fearless.
So I say Zagstruk cannot take profit of his special rule if he is with 10 boyz.
Ork Latin Lover since 1980
Lord Nemesis is correct.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
I used the 'subsitute the number of orks for leadership' the other day in a funny way. My biker squad turboboosted right in front of a squad of twenty guardsmen with a priest and a commisar attached, which can be a surprisingly tough nut to crack, for 'umies. Anyway, by the time he was done shooting, I'd lost half my biker unit. So, I gave them a leadership of three and made them run away xD He couldn't charge anything with his cc unit because they shot at the bikers, who got well away, and opened him up for a charge from the trukk mob that had been forced to slog half way.