Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
First of all, let me apologize for any inconvinence or misunderstanding caused by the below post. English is not my first or secondary language, and as such, not perfect. I would also ask you to bare in mind, that this is going to be somewhat a wall of text, but most of it is relevant and useful.
That being said, I am a fresh and newly started Necron Player, and thus their are a few question marks (due to the fact that the Necron codex is indeed from edition three) which needs to be straighten out. I suppose these questions have been asked and answered several times already, but I did not find them in the FAQ or any other post.
I have stated a bunch of questions below, all written in bold with a small clarification if needed.
Right, so where to begin;
1. Will any ability/weapon with the "enemy unit removed from play" - effect remove any necron unit, without their specific special rules? Such as WWB, Living Metal, "Immune to natural Law" and/or Res Orb?
2. Can the Veil of Darkness be used as many times as the Necron player would like? Or only once per game? (Of course only once per turn)
3. Necron destroyers, H. and Normal, move as jetbikes, but do they still get the 6+ to hit rule since they are "skimmers" even though this is not clearly stated? (If not, what are they? Jetbikes?)
4. Can the Monolith fire the Particle Whip and The regular Gauss Flux arc in the same turn? Since it is a Skimmer and as such Relentless, In contrast to the regular Ordnance Rule. (Providing that the Monolith has not moved)
5. Can you fire several Flux Arc's? (In other words, do you roll only One D6 in order to determine the amount of shoots fired, or do you roll one D6 for each cannon?)
6. If the above question had a Yes as an answer, Can the arc fire on different targets?
7. If you use Deceive on a Fearless Unit, and they fail their morale test, do they flee or take an amount of wounds? (Or are they simply taking a pinning test instead?)
8. Even though the Monolith is Ponderous, it still Scatters when Deep striking right? Same with its ordnance?
9. Is the Ordnance always counted as a 360 Degree weapon?
That will be it for now, but fear not, More questions are going to Turn up!
Cheers and thanks for the great Forum!
Heya Lufferman, welcome to Librarium Online! Also welcome to the Necron Tomb, and best of luck with your new army.
1. If it states that the unit is removed IGNORING all saves and special rules, yes, otherwise "removed from play" is something you get WBB against.
2. As many times as you desire, go crazy.
3. You're getting the skimmer and jetbike rules crossed up. Destroyers are jetbikes as far as unit types, ignore the skimmer rules.
4. Relentless is a non-vehicle special rule, look at the vehicle firing and movement charts for this. Short answer though, no you may not, Ordinance weapons may not be fired with any other weapons.
5. For the Gauss flux arc, measure to every enemy unit within 12" of the monolith, and roll a d6 for each unit targeted separately.
6. You can fire at all units within 12", so yes.
7. See the FAQ for necrons. Fearless units take wound instead. The Deceiver can ALSO force pinning on fearless units.
8. It does scatter on DS, and it's ordinance scatters just as it would normally.
Thanks for the quick and straight answers, just what I need!
Just a clarification on the flux arc; Does that mean that I can hava a total of 24 shoots? (D6 * 4)? If that very well is the answer, Then the big thing can go completly Nuts .
One more question, and I am sorry if this a question for the "general rules" - Section, but can I place the Ordnance marker so that my own units are under it? Or is this, as clearly stated under "blast weapons" Not allowed?
I'll try to come up wit the rest of my questions I had in Mind Earlier today. In any case, The Forum seems great as far as anything I can think of!
Feel free to add anything to the discussion or topic!
Ignore the guns, you get d6 shots PER ENEMY UNIT, period. The model's weapons have no effect on the rules. If there are 10 units of ork within 12' of your monolith, you could potentially get 60 shots. Sooo yeah it goes a bit crazy.
No you may not put ordinance blast templates over your own units, and you do not want them there. If the template scatters over your units, then yes they get hit.
Yet again, Thank you Alzer for the answers .
Right okay well that certainly puts thins in perspective, I basicly get a heavy bolter with a D6 on everything around me? My God that have to hurt....
I suppose the question might seem a bit silly, of course I am not going to shoot at my own tin cans, but Its good to know in any case.
I am also wondering whether I should use the deceiver or the nightbringer, I reckon there is about 100 other posts about the same question. But without making it into a completly new thread; Is there a a good example of a situation where the Deceiver can be, lets call it "game breaking", but in a postive, smooth and tactic-covered way?
In other words; Is there enough arguments to back up a point cost of 300 for a non Necron Unit?
I am also aware of the fact that the above question may be abit to general, I understand that every setup of opposing armies have their own answers, but I am still looking for general opinions and pointers.
Plus, the ability to pin a few units every now and again can be useful. Deceiver all the way. Sure, you lose a point of S and T but you won't really miss them anyway.
Last edited by Dark Trainer; November 4th, 2009 at 15:49.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
Something else I feel should be pointed out. The deceiver can actually pin FEARLESS units. Which is something a Daemon or Tyranid player will be absolutely terrified of, when their close combat units suddenly get stuck sitting in our rapid fire range, and have to sit there and like it.
The C'tan are definitely something you can add to your army, just plan very carefully how you are going to utilizes them to support the rest of your forces. Necrons are machines, both literally and as an army, the parts have to work together.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda