Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys i just got a few questions about afew mainly tau related thigns.
1st off, with the pathfinders devilfish, i plan on giving it to another unit but im not sure how this works. Do the pathfinders start in it? do i have to put the Dfish near the Pathfingers? or can i set it up anywhere?
secondly with the deep striking i have the rule book but i cant fidn where it says how we determin where the unit lands and if anyone could jsut clear this up for me it would be a big help.
Last but not least, another pathfinder question, can i legaly use normal FW's as "counts as" pathfinder? i mean aslong as i give them the pulse carbine and that?
thanks in advance ^^
You can place the DF whereever you want.
The only restriction you have is that no other unit but the pathfinder squad may start embarked in it.
You have to roll every turn (from turn two on) to check wether your deep striking units are ready or not. If they are you position them whereever you want to and roll a scatter dice (and two D6 of course) If they won't scatter, that's it, safe landing.
If they scatter AND land on impassable terrain/other units/off the edge they fail to land and you have to roll another dice. The rulebooks explains the different possibilities of failures.
If your opponent is ok with that, sure. You may even use Lego bricks if you like ^^
The golden rule is: It's just a game.
If you're playing at a tournament I'm not sure, you have to check the tournament rules. However, I think using FW as PF shouldn't be a problem if you give them the carabines and paint them differently from your FWs. I also used warhammer fantasy chaos hounds as kroot hounds multiple times.
2. Also keep in mind that the pathfinders DF allows for you to re-roll your deepstrike scatter so long as you have los to it.
We have a piece of wargear called Positional Relay. This allows you to bring one unit in from reserves on a 2+. I usually only have 1 unit in reserve so this is pretty handy to make sure that unit gets in on turn 2.
3. Games Workshop allows you to use the "counts as rule" which means you can use anything really to represent your units. For it to be legal in a tournament they do have to be wysiwyg (what you see is what you get) and have to be made from 75% GW models.
So for example if I want to take some Catachans from the Imperial Guard to use as my kroot. I can so long as I can model them to show the kroot rifle or an equivalant. Or if I add a shaper to the squad and add the awesome 6+ armor sv, it is reflected on the models with some light armor. The important thing is that you can distinguish them for what they are and any wargear and upgrades can be readily seen. The only thing you do not have to show is hard wired gear.
Although it isnt uncommon for people in normal games to sub in or sub out gear so they can try different configurations without having to change the models they already have. One of the reasons why most of the veterans here will highly suggest magnetizing your crisis suits so you can switch out weapons and wargear with ease.
- Never underestimate the power of human stupidity.
Thanks for the replies guys ^^
And with the "counts as" how would i modle fire warriors to look like Pathfinders? i mean if i give them the poulse carbine and snip off the end of a pulse rifle and mount it on the top to represent the markerlight, what more can i do to make them more look like pathfinders?
do not give them shoulder pads and paint them differently from your FWs, maybe inverted color sheme or whatever you like.
I think no opponent will protest against converted FWs counting as PFs.
look in the Big Rule Book, pg 218-219
That army shows Pathfinders and firewarriors, both made using Firewarrior models
He kept the shoulder pad off the path finders, also, for the markerlight, just say the "grenade launcher" underneath is the Light, however, since it is war gear it does not allways have to be present.
(not every single SM will be holding his pistol, or frag grenade)
Another thing he did was paint both the fire warriors and path finders the same however, he left out the light tan sept markings on the fire warriors, but included them in his path finders
hope that helps
This kid evan