Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I think this could be useful, so here goes nothing. I'll provide a RAW and RAI answer for each question. Note that I'm pretty much making these up, so feel free to argue my "rulings". I have no real authority here, and am just posting this to get the ball rolling.
I've taken my answers from the Codex and 5th Edition Rules. I may be wrong in some aspects, so please mention anything you wish to. Not all of the questions and answers are mine, so thanks to everyone that's helping this!
Questions marked with a (*) have been answered to me by GW staff, so it's probably going to be final. Still, grain of salt people, and discuss it with your opponent first. Use this always as a guide so you know what to expect when GW releases the official FAQ.
Q: Can I get +2 or +3 to my reserve rolls with several Tyrants/Lictors/Deathleapers or combination of them?
RAW: Yes. There is no explicit limit to this written anywhere.
RAI: This is anyone's guess. The IG FAQ says their bonuses to reserve rolls do not stack. The Eldar, on the other hand, CAN stack their bonuses. To make matters worse, the Tyranids can get their bonuses from three different abilities (the normal Hive Tyrant's, the Swarmlord's, and the Lictor/Deathleaper's).
Since I want to try to answer everything, I'm going with the bonuses stacking if they come from different abilities.
Q: Does the Tyrant's/Lictor's/Deathleaper's +1 to reserve rolls work while he is not in play?
RAW: Yes for the Tyrant, no for the Lictor. The Tyrant's Hive Commander ability says it works while he is alive, the Lictor's says it works if he is in play at the begining of the movement phase. The Deathleaper works as the normal Lictor.
RAI: I'm going with the RAW interpretation here. The Lictor and Tyrant both specify their different requirements, and the IG Advisor hasn't recieved any errata to make me believe this kind of bonus only works when the one granting it is in play.
Q: If I join a Tyrant to a unit of Tyrant Guard, can the Tyrant be singled out in close combat? Can he be singled out with ranged attacks, as per Independent Character rules?
RAW/RAI: No. The Tyrant Guard's Shieldwall rule says you join the Tyrant to the Guard exactly as if it were an Independent Character. However, this is different from saying it's an Independent Character as long as it's joined to them.
Q: Can a Hive Tyrant voluntarily LEAVE a unit of Hive Guard?
RAW/RAI: No. Although Shieldwall says the Hive Tyrant can JOIN a unit of Hive Guard as if it were an Independent Character, there is no rule stating that it may leave. It is not an IC for any purpose other than joining a unit, so it is stuck with the unit until it or the Hive Guard die.
Q: Do Fearless units outside of Synapse need to test for Insinctive Behaviour?
RAW/RAI: Yes. The Leadership drop that some units have suffered means synapse is more important than ever! Of course, the effect of failing IB are much less dire than they used to be.
(*)Can I choose to Deep Strike a Mawloc directly on top of an enemy model?
RAW/RAI: Yes. Although the rules for Deep Strike require that you place the miniature on the table before you roll for scatter, the mini doesn't have to TOUCH anything, but can be left on top of enemy miniatures. This seems to be an official answer. I got this information from a GW store employee, who said they ahd received a beta FAQ from GW.
Q: Can I walk infantry out of a Trygon hole on the same turn that the Trygon arrives?
RAW/RAI: No. The codex specifies the Trygon hole can't be used on the same turn the Trygon Deeps Strikes.
Q: Is a Trygon hole a different reserve point or just another point for reserves to come in from?
RAW/RAI: The Trygon's hole counts as your back table edge, for the purpose of units coming out of reserve. So only units kept in reserve can walk out of it, not outflanking or deep striking units. You have to declare whether a unit is coming into play via your table edge or they are outflanking or Deep Striking during army deployment, so no changing your mind! (page 94 of the 5th edition Rulebook, "Preparing Reserves") Conisder it works like a Teleport Homer for units kept in "normal" reserve, and place the unit within 6" of the hole.
Q If a unit falls back, will it fall back towards a Trygon's hole if one is available?
RAW/RAI: No. The Trygon's hole only counts as your table edge for units coming out of reserve. For anything else, it doesn't exist.
Q: I place Warriors in reserve hoping to pop out of the Trygon hole. I roll reserves, and the Trygon does NOT pop up. Do I have to roll for Warriors anyways and they come in from my table edge if they pass, or is their reserve roll moot because you said you were going to come through the trygon hole and thus they must wait?
RAW/RAI: You will have to roll for the Warriors, and they will walk out of your table edge if there's no Trygon hole available. When you deploy your forces and declare reserves, you can only choose between Depp Striking, Outflanking, or walking out of the table edge. You don't choose to use the Trygon's hole until after a successful roll is made. So even if it foils your plans, the Warriors may be forced to walk the long way.
(*)Q: How does it work to deploy a Tyranid Prime in a unit of Lictors?
RAW/RAI: You cannot deploy them together at all. Since The Lictors HAVE to deep strike and can't be deployed normally, but they can't Deep Strike if joined by a Prime, deploying them together isn't allowed.
Q: Is The Doom of Malan'Tai's Spirit Leech ability a psychic shooting attack? Is it a psychic ability at all?
RAW: No and no. There's no psychic test, nor is it listed as being a psychic ability.
RAI: No and no. Spirit Leech is listed under "Special Rules", not under "Psychic Powers". Therefore it's not a Psychic power.
Q: Can I take cover saves from The Doom of Malan'Tai's Soul Sucker ability?
RAW:RAI No, since it's not a Psychic shooting attack. All you can take as invulnerable saves, as those can be taken against any kind of wound that doesn't specificaly ignore invulnerable saves.
(*)Q: Can the Doom of Malan'Tai's Spirit Leech affect units that are inside Transports?
RAW/RAI: Yes. Spirit Leech is not a psychic power at all, so the official errata about Psychic powers doesn't affect it at all.
Q: Does the Doom of Malan'Tai's Spirit Leech work even if he's stuck in close combat?
RAW/RAI: Yes. It's an aura, so it works in the same way a psychic hood or Shadow in the Warp always works.
Q: Do the Termagaunts the Tervigon produce always count as troops, or do they count as the same type as the Tervigon? Do they score objectives? What if the Tervigon that hatched them was an HQ choice?
RAW/RAI: The rules for the Tervigon state that the Termagaunts hatched are in every way equal to basic Termagaunts from the corresponding army section. Since normal Termagaunts are Troops and scoring units, so are any Termagaunts hatched from Tervigons, regardless of where in the Force Organisation Chart the Tervigon that hatched them was.
Q:What place in the FOC do Mycetic Spores occupy? Do they score? Contest?
RAW: They don't score, and don't take up FOC slots.
RAI: From what I gather, they are bought and function just as a designated transport would for any other army.
(*)What happens if a vehicle Tank Shocks a Mycetic Spore?
RAW/RAI: The Mycetic Spore MUST choose Death or Glory, to satisfy the Immobile requirement. You automatically pass the morale test, and roll for penetration.
Q: Can I use multiple special weapons in the same assault phase? For example, if my Hive Tyrant has a Bonesword, a Lash Whip and Scything Talons, do all their bonuses work at the same time?
RAW: No. 5th Edition rules only allow you to benefit from one set of special weapons at a time. Therefore, you have to choose which one you are using. So, in the above example, you would have to choose between reducing the enemy's initiative, trying to deal Instant Death, and repeating rolls to hit of 1s.
RAI: Yes. This is probably an unintended oversight by GW, as the limitation is supossed to be the number of arms in a Tyranid, as seen by some biomorphs and weapons having to replace others.
Can I use two Boneswords or two Scything Talons?
RAW/RAI: Yes. Both these cases have specific rules, so you're not really stacking special weapons. However, you still don't get the bonus attack for wielding two CC weapons.
Q: If I am using a special weapon on a tyranid with Toxin Sacs, will the special weapon attacks be poisoned? And if I have several special weapons, will they all be poisoned?
RAW/RAI: Yes. Toxin Sacs are a Biomorph that make any attacks by the Tyranid that has them be poisoned. Because Toxin Sacs aren't a special weapon, they work perfectly fine with whatever you choose to equip your Tyranid unit with. And all attacks will be poisoned, no matter what special weapon you use in combat.
If anyone wants to add any questions or discuss anything, please do so!
Last edited by Lemt; February 11th, 2010 at 17:21.
Do the termagaunts the Tervigon produce always count as troops, or count as the same type as the Tervigon?
Termagaunts from an HQ Tervigon are troops or HQ?
Is the Trygon hole a seperate reserve point or just another point for reserves to come in from?
-> I place warriors in reserve hoping to pop out the trygon hole.
I role reserves, the Trygon does NOT pop up. Do I have to roll for Warriors anyways and they come in on my edge if they pass, or is their reserve roll moot because you said you were going to come through the trygon hole and thus they must wait?
Last edited by Zarathustra; January 9th, 2010 at 23:14.
As of Tyranid 5th Ed. codex I have the Gaunts I wanted. I did, however, loose the sniperfexs I relied upon and they were more important then the gaunts.
I added those questions to the FAQ, and I hope I got everything right and tight.
Q: Can I walk infantry out of a Trygon hole on the same turn that the Trygon arrives?
The answer to this is no.
Eisenstein translated this:
After the Trygon arrived on the table, mark the position of the creature's base with an appropriate marker.
All Tyranid infantry units (without wings) that arrive from reserve in subsequent turns may use the tunnel network to enter play instead of moving normally onto the table.
Last edited by Enean; January 10th, 2010 at 00:57.
Thanks for that! I'll blame the online translator for the mess up. If you know anything else is blatantly wrong (or disagree with me somewhere) then by all means tell me!
Do the Landing Spores count for anything? Scoring? Troop? The unit type they are selected for?
Logically it'll not score maybe just contest.
Hoping for more scoring units, making objective games a lot easier while kp games a lot harder.
'Thou shalt not refer to the Adeptus Soritas as "Bolter Bitches" nor shalt thou go anywhere near our sisters during the time of the "Red Rage," lest thou wishes to be the first human to enter orbit without the aid of a shuttle.'
Why can't they score? Is you take them as a transport for a troop choice, they are also a troops choice (according to rulebook), they are not a vehicle, and the codex does not say anything about them not scoring. So? A landing spore (if taken by a troops choice) is just a monstrous creature from troops, so it scores.
"One must do violence to the object of one's desire; when it surrenders, the pleasure is greater."
Marquis De Sade