Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So if a unit wants to shoot past my Grotz and into my Boyz...do the Boyz get a 4+ cover save? The reason I ask is this...
When dealing with units and cover saves it says that if you are shooting over a piece of terrain or over a unit there is no cover save granted. You must be shooting through those things. Grotz are small...so it seems likely that the would be getting shot "over" at all times.....do they still provide a cover save?
If they obscure >50% of the target then yes, the target unit gets a coversave. Otherwise no. Remember that this goes both ways.
Not quite, thats the Monstrous creature rule, as far as infantry are concernd, if even a tiny part of the model is obscured, then they get a save. Something to do with "activly seeking cover" if i remember corectly. Ill go and see if i can find the page.
here it is pg 21
"when any part of the targets body is obscured from the point of veiw of the firer, the target is in cover."
So if the grots even slightly cover the orks, they get a save.
Last edited by Heirodule; January 14th, 2010 at 06:50.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Cool, thanks for the info. I must have sort of skimmed that when I was reading the rules! Thanks guys.
You are correct there, but might I also add that that would be a coversave proportional to the amount they're covered by, so a more obscured unit would get a 4+ while a fractionally obscured one would only get a 5/6+ save.
Yeah, no, check your rulebook. 4+ cover all day.
Fair enough, should have dug out the RB sooner. I always played it intuitively, that unless there was a decent amount obscured there wasn't a save (i.e. as I described). Sorry for any confusion.
That's how it works for terrain, but infantry in the way always give the 4+.
Yes upon a re reading of the rules ==Me== is correct. It also indicates that "firers may shoot over intervening if they are tall enough or high up on some terrain piece.." So I assume that grots will provide this cover save if any normal troop is shooting through them. Perhaps Tanks and Walkers would be able to shoot over them.
yeah its 4+ but another point I always thought was weird was,
Does the grot unit that provides the cover save to the ork unit also provide a cover save to the target of the ork unit?
So if my ork unit is behind a gretchin unit and it shoots at an enemy unit then the enemy unit gets the 4+ cover save from the gretchin?