Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I was reading the rule for Onslaught over and it states that a unit with onslaught on it can not assault unless it has the fleet ability. So if u have fleet it means that you can assault. Codex materials taken over non-codex materials, right? so would this work?
Have a squad of Raveners Deep Strike in within 18" of the Tervigon, move the tervigon 6" closer to the Raveners, cast Onslaught on them, then the Raveners can Run, Shoot, and assault 12". Normally they can not assault due to the DS but with Onslaught they can.
Right? Please comment.
I would say no. Seems to be that Onslaught just allows you to take a shooting and a run action, and otherwise has no effect on the ability to charge. If a unit can't charge due to deep-striking, this power wouldn't allow them to, however the shooting and movement granted would be nice, allowing you to re-position the squad and deal out some damage.
I'd also say no. RAW it looks that you may be right, but I think this will be FAQ'd. Legally I guess you could do it, but I'd forfeit the game right then and there and never play you again.
But by the way it reads, you can do it but it is Uber Cheese.
I noticed this to, but yeah, it's probably not intended, so I won't try it
"I have seen you humans, trying to forge an Empire in the name of a corpse"
'Thou shalt not refer to the Adeptus Soritas as "Bolter Bitches" nor shalt thou go anywhere near our sisters during the time of the "Red Rage," lest thou wishes to be the first human to enter orbit without the aid of a shuttle.'
Nah, onslaught doesn't allow you to assault when you couldn't assault anyway. The deepstrike rule overrides the ability to assault regardless of the move/shoot stage. Onslaught would have to specifically say that it allows assault with fleet, even when assault isn't allowed.
This is much the same as Dark Eldar Deep Striking in Raider, then jumping out, fleeting and charging.
I believe it is in the Main FAQ that having Fleet does not circumvent other restrictions that stop you charging
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff