Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey, please forgive me if this has been asked or covered before. I ran a search of the forums and couldn't find any previous threads on this topic. So here's where I'm looking for clarification.
I have a unit of Nobz. They don't have FNP until I upgrade one of them to a Painboy. I also have a Warboss who joins the unit of Nobz. The clarification I'm looking for is whether or not the Warboss now has FNP.
Here's my rational. The rulebook states that any IC joining a unit will not gain the effects of any special rules. I understand that you can't have a Warboss join a unit of Kommandos and expect them all to be able to infiltrate. However, FNP is given to the Nobz by way of the Painboy's Doc's Tools, which states that he confers FNP to the whole unit. Isn't the Warboss part of the Nobz' unit now and receive the benefits of the Doc's Tools?
It seems to me that this could go one of two ways:
1) The Warboss gains FNP when he joins the unit
2) The Warboss doesn't gain FNP, where the Painboy and Nobz would keep the special rule
Either way, I can't find any logic that would say the Nobz/Painboy loose the FNP ability, just whether or not it's applied to the Warboss.
Thanks in advance for your input here. And as a post-script, thank you for you answers to my squig question from a few days ago. I'm building my first Ork army (after playing Necrons for a long while) and I want to make sure I have all my rulings in order before I finalize my army.
I'd say the Warboss doesn't get FNP, but as the majority of the unit -does-, unless it comes down to just the Painboy and the Warboss, you roll all your unsaved wounds as FNP unless you've been wounded enough that some of the unsaved wounds spill over to the Warboss as well, in which case you need to do the unsaved wound allocation onto each model in the unit just like you would for armour saves, with only the Nobz and Painboy getting to save against them, while the warboss just has to take it.
+++XENOS SPOTTED+++ thrilling battles within the Vitorina subsector: http://xenosspotted.blogspot.com/
Um, wow. I'll have to be the one to disagree. Maybe someone can post the Painboy's rules here, but I believe it applies to the unit. If the Warboss is part of the unit then he will recieve the bonus. This is why declaring what unit your character(s) is part becomes important. Their are some special rules that require the character and the unit to have the same special rule, but I think FNP is not one of these. As I mentioned before I do not have the rules in front of me, but I know some of the special rules have astericks (*) beside the name; indicating the need for the character and unit to have the same special rule.
This is a good question and i'll have to check this later. It might be that the Doc does and a reg Painboy doesn't. Once again, I just don't know.
The Warboss does get FnP, as he is a part of the unit he has joined (he also gains +1 WS from a Waaagh! Banner or the potential benefits of a Bosspole). This was further confirmed by the Adepticon FAQ.
Two's to kill. Ahh, sweet sweet music.
Luckily I haven't added any ICs to my biker squad. But this is the potential conflict...
Page 48 of the AoBR Rules (Under Special Rules):
"When an independent character joins a unit, it might have different special rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself, the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the character, and the character's special rules are not conferred upon the unit."
The Painboy's 'Dok's Tools' specifically says that "He confers the Feel No Pain ability to his unit." And the Doc himself is and IC and confers FNP to his unit.
So until GW or any other major FAQ says otherwise, it seems that GW has included the 'confers' in the Ork Codex.
So the question is in that the Painboy is obviously not an IC and part of the unit. But I think the general IC rules apply here. So no FNP for a Warboss, unless the Dok is in that unit also.
The argument would come in where the Ork Codex says 'confers to unit' but doesn't say to any ICs also.
I for one will likely follow the AdeptiCon mentality.
The AdeptiCon article is as follows:
FORCES OF THE ORKS: PAINBOYZ (page 3
ORK.38A.01 – Q: If an Independent Character joins a
mob with a Painboy, does he gain the „Feel No Pain‟
universal special rule?
A: Yes, as Dok‟s Tools are a piece of Wargear that specifies
which models gain the special rule [clarification].
Ref: IG.71F.01, RB.48B.02, ORK.59A.01, SM.55A.01
Last edited by p13th0r4; January 27th, 2010 at 03:04.
Please ignore my previous question about how official the Adepticon FAQ is in GW standards. I tried this little thing called reading the into to the FAQ and (lo and behold) found my answer! HA!
However, this does open the question of IS there anything official from GW or have people just accepted this as the general consensus?