Tervigon and a 30" charge? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Da Springy Nids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Tervigon and a 30" charge?

    Righty then, this question is a discussion at my first game with the new codex.

    Could a Tervigon spawned unit assault 30"?

    Runs like this,

    1. Tervigon moves forward 6", Spawns 6" forward.

    2. Spawned Gaunts move 6" forward, Fleet/run 6" (avg 3.5" I know, but just for hypothesis say it was 6").

    3. Gaunts then Assault 6"

    So..... 6" + 6" + 6" + 6" + 6" = 30" or for the sake of the fleet roll, 6" + 6" + 6" + 3.5" + 6" = 27.5"

    Thats an average of 10 gaunts with a first turn charge, not devastating but will stuff up a lot of fire corridors darn quick!

    Thoughts?

    -- Promotions/Public Officer --
    Dandenong Wargamers And Roleplayers Federation.

    LINK - Meetup D.W.A.R.F.

    LINK - D.W.A.R.F. Forums

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Captain Jesus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Donny, The UK
    Age
    24
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    29 (x1)

    "A tervigon can spawn termagants in the tyranid movement phase before it has moved."
    Also note that termagants don't have fleet.

    Sorry dude, but i think GW saw that one coming.

  4. #3
    jur
    jur is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rosmalen
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x1)

    As allready set

    The Tervigon Spawns before movement and no fleet.
    So it's about 18 inch max.

  5. #4
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    18" is already pretty damn good, I've seen it used to very good effect!
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  6. #5
    Member Da Springy Nids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Oh poop!

    Right you all are then.

    Sometimes I hate playing since Rouge Trader.. I get mixed up with the rules for previous editions...

    Sigh... Genestealers with 2 wounds...... Those were the days.....
    -- Promotions/Public Officer --
    Dandenong Wargamers And Roleplayers Federation.

    LINK - Meetup D.W.A.R.F.

    LINK - D.W.A.R.F. Forums

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    614
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    56 (x2)

    For 14 points that'd be pretty damn powerful...
    +++XENOS SPOTTED+++ thrilling battles within the Vitorina subsector: http://xenosspotted.blogspot.com/

  8. #7
    Bugs'r us! Blood_Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,242
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Chatawax View Post
    For 14 points that'd be pretty damn powerful...
    They already are powerful, it'd just be overkill
    'Thou shalt not refer to the Adeptus Soritas as "Bolter Bitches" nor shalt thou go anywhere near our sisters during the time of the "Red Rage," lest thou wishes to be the first human to enter orbit without the aid of a shuttle.'

  9. #8
    Charitably Tables People MVBrandt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia, near Washington, DC, USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,500
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x5)

    The 18" move is still pretty effectve in terms of assault range. More importantly, the capacity to do it while stuck in combat, and the capacity to do it OVER intervening enemy units can be a real boon in a lot of situations.

    But yeah, the 24"'er was over the top. Before the dex came out and the little details were there, we did a lot of playtesting with various builds, and found that one crazy over the top. The limitation was an important one.
    Nids & Guard
    GMail = MVBrandt

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts