Welcome to Librarium Online!
So after years of not playing (never once played a single 4th edition game) the bug has caught me again...
Thus I keep reading (on different sites) that the Horrofex is not a Defensive weapon?!
What am I missing? The rulebook states that any weapon ST 4 or less (horrfex has no strength) is a defensive weapon...
Does that mean the old disintegrator is no longer either (when fired in the low strength mode)?
Sorry if these are newbie questions but I am not up to speed yet on the differences?
While it might seem pretty obvious a weapon without a S value should be a defensive weapon, the 5th ed FAQ did an about face on previous rulings and states that a Horrorfex never counts as a defensive weapon. A dissy fired in sustained is a defensive weapon, by virtue of being S4.
This only applies to the Horrorfex however - the disintegrator can still fire in "sustained" mode as it always had.
Yah, it sucks.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
Keep in mind that this allows you to mount a Dissie on your Raider, fire it in sustained mode and still shoot with your Horrorfex.
"Is Archon Braigh-Dee going to have to choke a Wych?
Courtesy of Wicky: D.C.S.S.E.P.C.I.C.B.
I always thought that the Horrorfex is fired in the stead of the another weapon and the since the only other possible weapon is the Disintegrator on that Raider (regardless of its firing mode), its either one or the other, never both in the same turn.
Or have I missed something since retiring?
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Well I second that reading of the rules. It apears to me as an abuse of RAW interpretation. The wording of the horrorfex makes me believe it is a weapon that, when it is used, disallows using of the main weapon (disregarding any firing modes). As your raider only has one Dissintegrator or one Dark Lance, firing the Horrorfex disallows firing this "main" weapon. Firing mode does not change the "state" of the weapon from main to additional.
It seems to me a simple discussion about the fact that the guy manning the weapons has to chose which weapon he fires. He can not use his split personallity to fire both weapons.
Yep, since you have to fire the horrorfex "instead of one of the other weapons" on the vehicle, a Raider would have to fire it's horrorfex instead of the disintegrator. The disintegrator may have two firing modes, but that's not the same as two different guns, so both firing modes are void if you use the horrorfex instead of either one.
--•-My 40K projects-•--