Welcome to Librarium Online!
...but not the question about whether it's possible to use it's "questionable" ability. Please don't turn this thread into an argument about that.
Ok so I used the Mawloc for the first time in a game tonite and I gotta say I loved it, as long as it doesn't get stuck in an assault.
First turn I had it out on the board and burrowed, turn 2 I place it in the middle of a large area full of marine squads. The idea was that pretty much no matter where is deviated to I would come up under SOMETHING. And it did... oh did it ever come up under something. It deviated onto the edge of the only Landraider on the board and ended up pushing the Landraider into a building it was sitting next to. Now considering the rules of the Mawlocs ability this destroys the vehicle. But what does that mean exactly?
Destroyed - Explode?
Destroyed - Wrecked?
Is there anywhere that mentioned wether the vechicle explodes or is simply wrecked? Or should it be a 50/50 roll?
We ended up deciding upon wrecked and the squad inside the landraider then tied up my Flyrant/hive commander for the remainder of the game. Grr.. my rolls were sucking for that. The player had inv saves.
I had no idea that the mawloc could destroy vehicles by forcing them away from its base. It sounds a bit fishy, but if it's actually meant to be like that, it's probably a regular wrecked result. But i must say, I really don't think the mawloc can actually do that.
"I have seen you humans, trying to forge an Empire in the name of a corpse"
It DOES force all models to move the minimum distance to get out from under him. I would honestly say that it would be next to impossible to destroy a vehicle. You can't move him into Impassible terrain, and you have to move him out from under with the minimum distance. How did you manage this? Only way I can see is if you had it almost completely surrounded so that it couldn't be out from under the base in some direction, without moving into another squad. If you managed it somehow, I would say just Destroyed-Wrecked.
it's stated very clear in the codex. "Any models that cannot be moved out of the way are destroyed". As the abbilities of the mawloc say "Terror form the deep" and "Burrow" it is clear thats it's comming out of the ground.
There is clearly no room left for anything on the spot where the mawloc came out of the ground. So in may oppinion a vehicle that's not able to move out of the way explodes.
We threaded it that way during out games.
The Landraider being destroyed depends on if he can get out from under the Mawloc. If the shortest distance is to go to the other side of the Mawloc then that's where he needs to go. Only if their is no space any where around the Mawloc would the Landraider be destroyed. Which is quite likely since it's such a big model. My opinion is that it's passable but unlikely.
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
You say the raider was pushed into a building, was it impassable or something because as far as im aware that shouldnt be destroyed thats just a dangerous terrian check for the raider, worst case senario being it gets imobilised.
Last edited by Heirodule; February 18th, 2010 at 13:14.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Destroyed. (I'd say wrecked, but talk it over with your opponent beforehand.) Doesn't let the land raider magically pass through the wall of the building.
We count buildings as impassable terrain for vehicles, as they can't go inside and a LR wouldn't be able to drive up a wall so IMO this was done correctly. If there's no room for the tank alive there's no room for a wrecked vehicle, so it'd be destroyed (as in *boom*)