Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The Spanish version has been posted at http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...brero_2010.pdf
The English version (old 5th edition) has been removed so hopefully we will see it soon. I is depressingly short with just a single column, though I do not read Spanish so I cannot comment on content other than length.
I've been attempting to read it (since I did Latin and Spanish is derived at least in part from Latin, I thought, hey, why not) and I can say that there are no "FAQs" there, just corrections to existing rules. This either means that they are going to upload a much larger and more detailed FAQ later on (which the length of the pdf seems to imply, there are 2 full pages there but they've only used half of one of them) or that they aren't going to clarify our questions at all.
UPDATE: They're talking about the Devourer rules (in relation to it giving -1 to Ld).
Clarifying that it is "any enemy model in contact" for what I assume is the Lash Whip.
Clarifying it is any set of scything talons the Hive Tyrant can substitute.
And clarifying some language use when talking about the weaponry options of the Mycetic Spore.
Last edited by Chatawax; February 25th, 2010 at 02:34.
+++XENOS SPOTTED+++ thrilling battles within the Vitorina subsector: http://xenosspotted.blogspot.com/
It just basically clarifies the wording in some of the paragraphs that was worded correctly in the english version anyway. Doesn't answer any of the grey areas in the codex
It would be nice if they clarified the whole Doom of Malantai thing. That seems to be a big "grey area"
Seems they teased us with an errata (spelling/wording corrections) and not the FAQ.
Torden, I believe you are correct. GW may not have the FAQ ready but did want to correct typos/grammar/etc in the Spanish printed version of the Tyranid codex. It appears the English codex didn't seem to have the same mistakes printed.
I can see how GW would want to try and release an errata before an actual FAQ, fix actual printing mistakes. There were a lot of questions brought up when the Tyranid codex was released, many situations that apparently gamers aren't able to agree on. I do find it funny how come folks have over-reacted to just seeing the Spanish errata as thinking that's all GW will release in a form of some sort of clarification. I for one will just wait and see when they actually release an English version of a FAQ/errata.
In all honesty, the group I play with has been pretty stellar with figuring out how to handle XYZ situation that may seem fuzzy due to poor wording in either the main rule book or respective codexes.
Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!
For every "reasonable" answer:They supply multiple really stupid rulings.Q: If a Tyranid model is equipped with
two (or more) different close combat weapons, does
it have to choose which of them to utilize each
A: Tyranid close combat weapons do not actually count as
close combat weapons as such (ironic, I know), so they are
able to simultaneously utilize the effects of all they wield
[clarification]."RAW"?! Really?! Right there in black and white in the very rule being referenced: "to a minimum of 1" dice.Q: What happens to an infantry unit
that normally only rolls 1D6 when moving through
difficult terrain when it attempts to move within 12”
A: Except for running, consolidation and other moves that
ignore terrain, the unit would be unable to move while the
Deathleaper was within 12” of it [RAW].Wha?! Is there some reason 1/2" needs to be rounded?! Does the game outlaw 1/2" measurements now?!Q: When halving Night Fighting
distance for „Where is it?‟, are fractions rounded up
A: Round the result up [clarification].No, but it does say that the bonus lasts so long as the Tyrant is "alive". It is "alive" while in reserves, isn't it?Q: Can the „Hive Commander‟
Reserves bonus be utilized even if the Hive Tyrant is
A: No, as the ability doesn‟t specify that it can be used while
not in play [clarification].
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
You can save the PDF. Upload to google translation tools and it will translate the document for you.
Gotta love google.
.... and after actually reading it. It changes nothing my codex says... most of the changes seem to allready be in place in my codex.
Last edited by RehKal; February 25th, 2010 at 17:43.