Welcome to Librarium Online!
First, question. Does the Ghosthelm roll to prevent a wound from being taken Perils of the Warp count as a save that can be rerolled with Fortune?
Second, does the metal Autarch model with the fusion gun and mandiblasters have an alternate head and banner backpack included? The reason that I'm asking is because while perusing the Eldar articles on Games Workshop, I came across the nifty little "Farseer and Autarch Gallery" and saw their painted Saim-Hann Autarch. I would go down to a store to check it out, however there are no Games Workshop stores nearby.
Ghosthelm thing is hard to decide:
Ghosthelm entry in codex says it will prevent a Perils "attack". It can be argued that beeing an attack the prevention is a save so it can be rerolled with fortune
Hight elf and Craftworld Eldar army project pics heavy: linky
My first instinct with the Ghosthelm is no - the Ghosthelm roll doesn't call itself a 'save' so it couldn't be used as such. However, invulnerable saves can be taken against Perils of the Warp which means that you can use Fortune if you fail your invulnerable save since all the psyker types in the Eldar codex have Rune Armor - right?
"If you can wait til I get home, then I swear we can make this last."
The Ghost Helm is simply a special ability that negates perils of the warp; since it's not defined as an armor, cover, or invulnerable save, it isn't one.
Unfortunately, that awesome looking Autarch model was a special edition one that was (I believe) only available in a no longer sold army box. You might have luck finding it on Ebay, but the one's I've seen in the past were expensive.
Hmmm, niraco that's interesting that you point that out. Here's a case to call it a save: All saves are all "(#)+" right? Ghosthelms follows that trend.
hotspike18: if it doesn't count as a save, can you fail a Ghosthelm roll and then throw an inv. save?
What if it does count as a 'save', and say you failed it, whether it could be fortuned or not , would you still be allowed to make an inv. save, seeing as for all attacks suffered you're allowed to only make one save? I think, that if we were to call it a save, then the Perils "attack" would only allow one save, and the Ghosthelm "save" is obviously better than the Rune Armor save. So, maybe it does count as like a special, improved, inv. save against Perils. We really need an errata to clear this bog up.
Archon, I think you explained that pretty well. So, roll Perils, Ghosthelm to nullify it, throw an inv, reroll thanks to fortune. You must be having some pretty bad luck to have a farseer suffer a Perils wound lol.
That's unfortunate about that autarch though. I suppose I can try my sculpting and converting skills and make a sweet looking autarch myself.
The Autarch with Fusion Gun and Mandiblasters does not come with an alternate head, but the twin banner backpack is indeed included in the blister for those inclined not to use the Warp Jump Generator. I actually used the banner to make a Yriel counts-as with Guardian and DA Exarch parts before I bought the real model.
Scratchbuilding Fire Prism Crystals
2K Mech Eldar in 2010: 25Win/4Lose/8Draw
Saim Hann autarch not on a jetbike? Seriously GWS are a bunch of lazy pricks. You would think they could get a proper Jetbike Autarch painted up for their own website. I mean they charge us 3x as much for the model, but it probably costs them about 15% more than the normal model, which is to say about a pound fifty.